Prune and Raisin Filled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2000
I have been looking for a prune slice recipe for years, without any luck....I cannot believe how delicious these are, add chopped maraschino cherries, maybe 10-12 and definitely walnuts...I live in RI and Italian cookie trays always have these in them, but no one ever has the recipe....try them, they are soooo good, and they go in my Christmas trays every year now....thanks so sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECHOQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I made these cookies for our family gathering this weekend and everybody loved them so much that each individual family took some home for later! I only wish a quantity could have been suggested for the chopped walnuts; I used 1/2 cup and we all enjoyed them, but more might have been nice too. Additionally, the recipe could have mentioned whether the dough needed to rest in the fridge a while before rolling out and filling, or whether you were supposed to proceed immediately to rolling out the cookies after initially mixing it; I decided to proceed immediately to kneading and rolling it out, but maybe I'll try resting the dough after mixing next time, to see if it could imrpove the recipe. The bottom line is that the cookies are not too sweet, but perfect for enjoying with coffee, either after dinner, or first thing in the morning! =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Delicious! This is very similar to my grandmother's recipe. The only difference for my family is we add a shot of brandy and 10 oz. chopped marachino cherries to the prune mixture. This must be a strictly Rhode Island cookie. I wonder if our families are from the same town in Italy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Unlike the other reviewers, I had never heard of these cookies before, and did not have a sentimental/nostalgic reason for making them, so I was approaching these without any expectations. However, after having made these cookies, I fell absolutely in love with them! The recipe is perfect (the dough is absolutely beautiful, and is easy to work with), the crust is flavorful, crumbly but soft, the filling is just sweet enough, and the nuts add another texture dimension. The recipe makes a bunch, and after 5 days I only have a couple of cookies left (keep in mind this is just 4 people eating), they are that good! I would definitely recommend this recipe to everyone, even those who have never heard of these before. They are absolutely amazing with milk! ***These keep better out in the air, instead of in an airtight container since in a container they get a little soggy because of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Here's a good way roll out the dough and form the logs: Wet your counter top, then put down a large piece of saran wrap. Flour the wrap, and roll out the dough. After you have spread the filling on the dough, use the saran wrap to fold the dough over. Just lift by two corners, fold, and then peel off the wrap. Do the same for the second fold. To get the log on the cookie sheet, put the cookie sheet on the counter next to the log, bunch the saran wrap under the log on the side next to the cookie sheet, ease the saran wrap and the log over onto the cookie sheet, and roll it off the saran wrap. This works beautifully. I got a decent-tasting cookie, but I had never had these before and didn't know what to expect. The directions bewildered me in a few places. I may try these again now that I have done a trial run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I just made thhis recipe. Been looking for one for a long time. My husband is from RI and his mother used to make them. They called them Prune Biscuits. I made these changes based his input. 2 Tblsp Orange Zest added to prunes, none in dough. Used all prunes and no raisens. My husband said they are as good as his mother's. Found them pretty easy to make. Just do the prunes the day before and used a mixer for the dough then hand knead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I was also looking for a recipe like this for years. My Italian grandmother made them at Easter. After tasting them I think she must have used all prunes, but I used a mixture of prunes, raisins and dried cherries. I did a white icing and then drizzled Easter pastels and then cut them. This is a good recipe to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Thanks you so much!!! I've been trying to find this recipe that an elderly Italian friend of mine had...it is not in any cookbooks. Thank you. Similar to the other reviewer, I am from Rhode Island.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I made these cookies today and they came out great! My mother had requested this recipe but wasn't quite sure how they would come out because the cookie she typically had was filled with prunes and cherries. She actually likes these cookies better because they are not as sweet! We are from Rhode Island also, so maybe that is why my mother requested the recipe! (We now live in FL) Came out great and will definitely be on my cookie trays this holiday! One thing I would like to add, the dough tends to be very sticky! It was a lot easier once I dusted my hands with flour! I was a bit unsure of how it would come out at first, but very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynna.z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I had never had this kind of cookie before so I wasn's sure what to expect but they turn out delicious! not too sweet and easy to prepare, perfect with a cup of tea or coffee, made exactly as written except I used half brown sugar half white for the fruit filling (i like to substitute brown sugar for white when possible, more "al natural" :) Thanks Lucy for sumitting your recipe! Elvira Silva.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States