Prune and Raisin Filled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2000
I have been looking for a prune slice recipe for years, without any luck....I cannot believe how delicious these are, add chopped maraschino cherries, maybe 10-12 and definitely walnuts...I live in RI and Italian cookie trays always have these in them, but no one ever has the recipe....try them, they are soooo good, and they go in my Christmas trays every year now....thanks so sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECHOQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Thanks you so much!!! I've been trying to find this recipe that an elderly Italian friend of mine had...it is not in any cookbooks. Thank you. Similar to the other reviewer, I am from Rhode Island.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Delicious! This is very similar to my grandmother's recipe. The only difference for my family is we add a shot of brandy and 10 oz. chopped marachino cherries to the prune mixture. This must be a strictly Rhode Island cookie. I wonder if our families are from the same town in Italy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I made these cookies for our family gathering this weekend and everybody loved them so much that each individual family took some home for later! I only wish a quantity could have been suggested for the chopped walnuts; I used 1/2 cup and we all enjoyed them, but more might have been nice too. Additionally, the recipe could have mentioned whether the dough needed to rest in the fridge a while before rolling out and filling, or whether you were supposed to proceed immediately to rolling out the cookies after initially mixing it; I decided to proceed immediately to kneading and rolling it out, but maybe I'll try resting the dough after mixing next time, to see if it could imrpove the recipe. The bottom line is that the cookies are not too sweet, but perfect for enjoying with coffee, either after dinner, or first thing in the morning! =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Amazing!!! Everyone loved it, even people who aren't crazy about prunes! Though I didn't glaze it with lemon because I had a cream left over from muffins I made I wanted to use that up, so I poured it over the dough right before putting it in the oven... the cream had chocolate chips in it as well. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di Katz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Another RI-er here. My Italian ex-SIL used to make these at Christmas. It's been years since I've seen or heard from her, but I haven't forgotten how good her prune cookies were. I'm happy to have found a recipe for them! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Glad to have found this recipe. I too am from Rhode Island and my Mom and Grandma used to make them. Anyone else from RI that has Italian cookie recipes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I made these cookies today and they came out great! My mother had requested this recipe but wasn't quite sure how they would come out because the cookie she typically had was filled with prunes and cherries. She actually likes these cookies better because they are not as sweet! We are from Rhode Island also, so maybe that is why my mother requested the recipe! (We now live in FL) Came out great and will definitely be on my cookie trays this holiday! One thing I would like to add, the dough tends to be very sticky! It was a lot easier once I dusted my hands with flour! I was a bit unsure of how it would come out at first, but very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynna.z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I just made thhis recipe. Been looking for one for a long time. My husband is from RI and his mother used to make them. They called them Prune Biscuits. I made these changes based his input. 2 Tblsp Orange Zest added to prunes, none in dough. Used all prunes and no raisens. My husband said they are as good as his mother's. Found them pretty easy to make. Just do the prunes the day before and used a mixer for the dough then hand knead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Unlike the other reviewers, I had never heard of these cookies before, and did not have a sentimental/nostalgic reason for making them, so I was approaching these without any expectations. However, after having made these cookies, I fell absolutely in love with them! The recipe is perfect (the dough is absolutely beautiful, and is easy to work with), the crust is flavorful, crumbly but soft, the filling is just sweet enough, and the nuts add another texture dimension. The recipe makes a bunch, and after 5 days I only have a couple of cookies left (keep in mind this is just 4 people eating), they are that good! I would definitely recommend this recipe to everyone, even those who have never heard of these before. They are absolutely amazing with milk! ***These keep better out in the air, instead of in an airtight container since in a container they get a little soggy because of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States