Prune and Raisin Filled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I only made half the recipe. I prefer raspberry jam instead of prunes, so I used organic raspberry fruit spread with raisins. I also put 1/2 teaspoon of anise extract into the dough for a more biscotti flavor . I sprinkled sliced almonds on top before baking and sliced them when they were still warm. I returned them to a 350 degree for about 8 minutes to crisp them up a little . Finished them with the lemon confectioner powder glaze, no candy sprinkles. They are very close to an Italian cookie that I love from a local bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
WONDERFUL!!! Everyone LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was a great recipe to use up some prunes I've had in the pantry. I actually swapped the amount of prunes and raisins in the recipe to use up my prunes, but it came out very nice. I think the directions could have been a little more clear when explaining the dough and how to fill it, some inexperienced cookie makers might get confused. The lemon glaze was my favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I thought these could use some more filling -- mine is a little sparse looking compared to the photograph. This was otherwise very straightforward and easy to do. The dough was simple to work with. I made a half-batch but used the entire quantity of icing. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
It was just okay. Not that I didn't like it, but nothing too spectacular. But maybe that's because I put less sugar. I made orange glaze instead of regular icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
These were good but for my taste, next time I'd like to increase the raisins and decrease the prunes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was an odd and very successful recipe. Fun to make and felt like something my grandmother would have made - in a good way! I am looking forward to using other fillings. it made plenty of loaves, great texture, easier than I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
My new favorite cookie! I'm not Italian or from RI, but these are great. Amount of filling is good, but I liked it just as well with half. More cookie-like with half the filling, almost a fruit bread as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was too yummy for words and will be on every cookie platter I ever make. Will def double or triple the prune/raisin mix next time. Only lightly brushed the top with the lemon juice/sugar mix. Found it easy to make and really easy to eat!! Got thumbs up from everyone. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe. My grandmothers would be so proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Enjoyed these very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States