Prune and Olive Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
If I could give half stars this would be 4 1/2. I used boneless, skinless breasts, and I was afraid that the cooking time might be too long, but it came out perfectly moist. The flavors blend very well together, but I might try cutting the sugar to only 1 TBS since I thought it was a little too sweet. Before serving I reduced the sauce in a pan and poured over the chicken. A simple and elegant dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This recipe is simple and delicius my 4 year old and 1 year old love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merida, Mérida, Venezuela
Living In: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This was a great recipe. My family was very happy with the results. I didn't give it 5 stars only because I'm not sure if I was in love with the sauce. It could be that I put more capers than necessary. I truly believe that the key to this dish is allowing the chicken to marinate for a long time (I allowed my chicken to marinate for about 36hours in refrigerator). I always gauge the success of my dishes by how much my husband like it. WELL, he loved it!!! PS. To ensure that there was enough sauce, I added a bit more white wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I don't like prunes or olives... but I was told, to get the right taste I had to cook everything together. IT WAS AMAZING! I baked it all together (including sauce) in a dish for an hour and served it over Angel Hair pasta. It was quite possibly the best meal I have ever had. It wouldn't have been something I would have normally tried, but I am DEFINITELY glad I did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is delicious! I have made this recipe several times now for special dinners, and all my guests have raved. I add extra capers, olives and prunes. I also use boneless chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Yuck, ick, blah. Time consuming and tasted gross. My husband didn't think it was THAT bad, but agreed it was something we will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I doubled everything, except the chicken. Used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. While chicken breasts tend to be dry, this recipe solves the problem. I chopped the olives and the prunes so the sauce would be a bit more uniform and more flavor would be infused in the sauce. I served with rice, which is why I made so much extra sauce - to soak up into the rice and share the goodness. Don't be afraid to serve this at a dinner party or special event without trying it before (we know we all do it) While you may get a few who snub their noses, I suggest you encourage them to try it before telling them what's in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
the chicken had a good flavour, but i was alittle disappointed with the sauce...there wasn't any! the chicken was alittle dry too, so i guess next time i won't cook it for the whole one hour; and i'll also chop the prunes (instead of halving) to disperse the flavour and so that you don't get these giant mushy bites of prune. and definately add more olives and capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I have had this recipe in my collection for months and have not tried it until today. I actually marinated it for about 36 hours, and I dont really measure anything. This was the MOST AWESOME chicken dish. I used boneless skinless breasts and cooked them for about 30 minutes. I cant believe how good this turned out. I have now categorized it under favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I just HAD to try this, since I love interesting combinations of flavors. It was good, but had some sharpness to the taste I didn't like (maybe the capers?) The leftovers seemed to mellow and I liked it better then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States