Prune and Olive Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I was excited about trying this dish after reading the reviews, but found it sadly lacking in flavor. I don't know how it happened because the marinade was certainly aromatic, but the chicken just tasted flat. Also, I think it has too much sugar for my taste. I might toy around with it a little for future use. The chicken did come out very moist. I used skinless thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I give this recipe 10 Stars! This was truly fantastic. I used 2 chicken breasts and served it alongside/over garlic mashed potatoes instead of pasta. The sauce was just enough for 2 servings. Divine I tell you - Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was excellent. It looks fancy, but is very easy to make. I served it over couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
We were introduced to this recipe in another venue under the name "Chicken Mirabella." It is a very easy dish that is incredibly sophisticated. Don't be intimidated by the prunes...or the olives. I marinated the chicken overnight in a ziploc bag--I just used chicken breasts too and used 4 prunes and 6 olives per breast. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Awesome. I used a little less sugar and it still tasted great. Next time I'll add lots more olives so the family doesn't fight over them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I used 7.5 pounds of boneless, skinless thighs and tripled the recipe. Baked it in two 9 x 12 pyrex dishes. We had 19 people. We also had a fish dish. Everyone that commented on the chicken loved it and went for seconds. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I make this often. I usually short cut with boneless chicken breasts and often use a few tbsps of an olive tampenade if I don't have good olives on hand. Great with egg noodles or bowtie pasta. Thank you Teresa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Who knew that these flavors would mesh so well? I doubled the sauce; the mixture (including brown sugar & wine, but excluding bay leaves) got blended into a chunky puree, and I reserved some for adding at the table. I marinated about 3 lbs. boneless skinless chicken breasts in the mixture, plus bay leaves, overnight. In the morning, I threw it all in the slow cooker, cooked on low for about 8 hrs, & voila! Tender, delicious, tangy; a perfect Mediterranean dish. Served with couscous and a green salad. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
DEEELISH and SO EASY! I tripled the amount of prunes and olives so everyone would get some tasty morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
OMG!!!! I accidently came across this recipe and thought, "Prune and Olives??? YUCK!"...but after reading the reviews I decided to give it a try. I made this last night for me and my 17 year old...and there is barely any left this morning. (I just had some for breakfast.) Will definitely double the sauce next time. And I did put the prunes and olives in the blender along with the oil and vinegar. Didn't use capers. I think I'll make another batch tomorrow. TO ANYONE SEEING THIS RECIPE FOR THE FIRST TIME....DON'T BE PUT OFF BY THE INGREDIENTS!!! IT IS ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States