Prune and Olive Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I don't like prunes, so I used raisins. I marinated it overnight in a plastic bag so it would absorb more of the flavor, rather than just in the dish. What I am going to try differently next time is reducing the wine mixture quite a bit after baking. Because it's so thin, it's hard to appreciate the flavor, since it doesn't really stick to anything. Aside from that, it's absolutely delicious, and I'm definitely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I had seen this recipe in The Silver Palate cookbook years ago, but I could never figure out how to decrease the amount of servings and maintain the flavor. I am so glad that Teresa did the work for me! All my husband could say was WOW...and I thought to myself, enough said. The next time I will increase the amount of prunes, olives and capers, so we have enough to share as my husband hoarded all the olives this time. Thank you again Teresa for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I love this recipe! We use blsl chicken thighs and it is great every time. I was originally just looking for a way to use up the giant jar of capers we got at the food warehouse but we make this about every other week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnorsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Wonderful dish for a crowd... fed even the pickiest eaters. Wondeful flavour.A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Tip: This is a fantastic recipe as is, but it can be improved as follows. Put leftovers in a ziplock bag, squeeze out all the air, and freeze. In a couple of weeks, defrost and heat. The flavors intensify, the meat becomes more tender, the aroma is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Not bad but oddly sweet, next time I'll use fewer prunes. I followed the advice of several reviews and: doubled the sauce, omitted the sugar, used chicken breast instead of a whole chicken, cooked on the stove top and not the oven, and forgot the white wine. Served over Israeli couscous that had been cooked in chicken stock and it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very easy and a crowd pleaser! I used 2lbs of chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Flagg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Pretty darn tasty! Did not use wine, just water instead and turned out still very flavorful. Would be nice to add some veggies to it. Goes well over rice or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this twice last week, once just for DH and me the other for New Year's dinner. The first time I used three boneless breasts, the second four. The first I marinated in all the ingredients, the second I added the sugar and wine before placing in the oven. I didn't notice any difference between the two. I don't think it needs to cook for the full hour, but that might just be my oven and the fact that I was cooking boneless breasts. I loved this recipe and intend on making it more often! It is easy for a week night and a very nice dish for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HECTORBOYARDEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I've made this about a dozen times now, it is that good and easy. I toss everything into a ziploc bag and then into the fridge. The only change I made was to increase the sauce by half and I used skinless, boneless chicken instead of a whole chicken. This recipe is pretty much the only reason why I keep capers and prunes in the house. One time I made this with dried apricots, I didn't realize that the bag of prunes on my shelf was empty (darn people putting empties on my pantry shelf!). The sauce is so delish over couscous, but my son especially likes it over noodles, long slurpy ones. Definitely a keeper and fancy enough to serve to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States