Prune and Olive Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Made this recipe and my family RAVED about it. I chose to use boneless chicken breasts and used all ingredients (including wine and brown sugar) to marinate overnight. It was perfect! I also baked the dish covered for 45 minutes and uncovered for 15 minutes. Very tender! Severed with Cous Cous. Will make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Incredible! I've made this up in freezer bags and stored the dinners for the future, thawing them overnight. Six different families did this with me and EVERYONE loved them. We used kalamta olives instead. Make this tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Sorry, I just did not like this at all. Maybe cutting the sugar in half would be an improvement, as I found it to be way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
It was good, but WAY too much oregano. My kid spat it out, and he'll generally eat anything. I tried it again with 1 TEASPOON of oregano and that made all the difference. Good recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Wow! This was great. I"m not much of a prune or a green olive person, (I'm for black olives) however, this was extremely delicious. The flavors mixed well together and the brown sugar seemed to be just the right amount for me. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Let me say WOW! I don't care for prunes or olives, but DH does. Trying to use ingredients we have on hand this week without going to the store. So I reluctantly made some changes. Used 4 skinless chicken thighs. Was out of red wine vinegar so I used apple cider. The prunes I had were "lemon" essence from some other recipe my DH wanted to try a while back. The only olives we had were habanero stuffed (a little spicy). I did screw up reading the recipe (oops) put all ingredients (wine & sugar included) into the marinade. Marinaded for 8 hrs then baked as directed. Served with buttered orzo & green beans. Fantastic! Plenty of sauce. The combination was delicious. This is the only way I will eat prunes & olives again!! Hubby enjoyed, but I don't think as much as I did. Would be perfect for serving to company too. Very easy! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Shepherdstown, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
If I could give half stars this would be 4 1/2. I used boneless, skinless breasts, and I was afraid that the cooking time might be too long, but it came out perfectly moist. The flavors blend very well together, but I might try cutting the sugar to only 1 TBS since I thought it was a little too sweet. Before serving I reduced the sauce in a pan and poured over the chicken. A simple and elegant dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This recipe is simple and delicius my 4 year old and 1 year old love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merida, Mérida, Venezuela
Living In: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This was a great recipe. My family was very happy with the results. I didn't give it 5 stars only because I'm not sure if I was in love with the sauce. It could be that I put more capers than necessary. I truly believe that the key to this dish is allowing the chicken to marinate for a long time (I allowed my chicken to marinate for about 36hours in refrigerator). I always gauge the success of my dishes by how much my husband like it. WELL, he loved it!!! PS. To ensure that there was enough sauce, I added a bit more white wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I don't like prunes or olives... but I was told, to get the right taste I had to cook everything together. IT WAS AMAZING! I baked it all together (including sauce) in a dish for an hour and served it over Angel Hair pasta. It was quite possibly the best meal I have ever had. It wouldn't have been something I would have normally tried, but I am DEFINITELY glad I did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States