Prune and Olive Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I make this often. I usually short cut with boneless chicken breasts and often use a few tbsps of an olive tampenade if I don't have good olives on hand. Great with egg noodles or bowtie pasta. Thank you Teresa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Who knew that these flavors would mesh so well? I doubled the sauce; the mixture (including brown sugar & wine, but excluding bay leaves) got blended into a chunky puree, and I reserved some for adding at the table. I marinated about 3 lbs. boneless skinless chicken breasts in the mixture, plus bay leaves, overnight. In the morning, I threw it all in the slow cooker, cooked on low for about 8 hrs, & voila! Tender, delicious, tangy; a perfect Mediterranean dish. Served with couscous and a green salad. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
DEEELISH and SO EASY! I tripled the amount of prunes and olives so everyone would get some tasty morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
OMG!!!! I accidently came across this recipe and thought, "Prune and Olives??? YUCK!"...but after reading the reviews I decided to give it a try. I made this last night for me and my 17 year old...and there is barely any left this morning. (I just had some for breakfast.) Will definitely double the sauce next time. And I did put the prunes and olives in the blender along with the oil and vinegar. Didn't use capers. I think I'll make another batch tomorrow. TO ANYONE SEEING THIS RECIPE FOR THE FIRST TIME....DON'T BE PUT OFF BY THE INGREDIENTS!!! IT IS ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Delicious. The whole family enjoyed it. I served it with white rice and poured the juices over the rice. I will definitely make this again. Only change I will make is to reduce the sugar or possibly leave it out completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
For all the rave reviews this dish has had, both here and in other sources, my expectations were high. Sadly, this was disappointing. I made it for New Year's Eve, followed the directions exactly,and ended up with a somewhat ordinary and slightly bitter entree. I will continue my search for the perfect company dish, and move on from this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Awesome and unusual dish! I would triple the sauce recipe. Great dish for company. I will make again. Takes a bit of prep time, but marinading over night was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is a great recipe and would be great for company. It looks really beautiful. I used black figs instead of prunes, b/c I already had them on hand (I was also afraid of the recipe being too sweet so I figured this was ok) and increased the garlic amount. Chopped up all the sauce ingredients in the food processor and marinated for 18 hours or so. Served w/ coucous cooked in chicken stock. It's perfect. I loved it, my sister loved it, my husband liked the chicken, but not the sauce. He rarely likes meat and fruit together. Still, I plan to make it again - maybe for girls' night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is my "food for thought" that I bring to friends in need of a meal. It is so easy, and always delicious. We serve it with angel hair pasta and steamed baby spinach. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I made this for a baby shower along with other Mediterranean dishes and it was a big hit. Very easy too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Baker City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States