Prune and Olive Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this twice last week, once just for DH and me the other for New Year's dinner. The first time I used three boneless breasts, the second four. The first I marinated in all the ingredients, the second I added the sugar and wine before placing in the oven. I didn't notice any difference between the two. I don't think it needs to cook for the full hour, but that might just be my oven and the fact that I was cooking boneless breasts. I loved this recipe and intend on making it more often! It is easy for a week night and a very nice dish for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HECTORBOYARDEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I've made this about a dozen times now, it is that good and easy. I toss everything into a ziploc bag and then into the fridge. The only change I made was to increase the sauce by half and I used skinless, boneless chicken instead of a whole chicken. This recipe is pretty much the only reason why I keep capers and prunes in the house. One time I made this with dried apricots, I didn't realize that the bag of prunes on my shelf was empty (darn people putting empties on my pantry shelf!). The sauce is so delish over couscous, but my son especially likes it over noodles, long slurpy ones. Definitely a keeper and fancy enough to serve to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
very delicious - and smells great when marinating. I made this for a teacher's luncheon. Surely not their usual fare for teacher's luncheons! They loved it. I made it that night for my family. It was great, but kids were reluctant to eat the prunes - not the most appealing appearance. I will make it again, though, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I've been using this recipe for years. Every time I make it for company, I get asked for the recipe. It is full of flavour. It is a wonderful dish for company because all of the work is done ahead of time. As many other reviewers suggest, I also double the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
My 4-year-old and 6-year old love this recipe. The combination sounded weird to me at first, but it's great. It's become a standard on my dinner menu. I never have capers on hand, so I have never made mine with capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Awesome! Had to replace the white wine with sherry and it turned out just as good. Will make this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
DH really liked it! I thought it was just (barely) okay. Made as directed, marinated 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This chicken was amazing....so flavorful. My family and I loved it and I will definitely be making it again. You wouldn't think that the prunes and brown sugar would go well with chicken but somehow it just does and it was great!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDI149

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I marinated the chicken for 15 minutes. I cooked the whole mixture in a pan on the stovetop. I used a mix of green, black, and kalamata olives. I didn't have a dry white wine, so I used riesling. I substituted balsamic vinegar for red wine vinegar. Despite all these changes it still tasted great. Very forgiving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
My favorite recipe for company...easy prep...can be done ahead of time. I have used chicken breast or w/ the bone & skin on...I also add more olives & capers to my recipe...so no one has to fight over them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States