Prune and Olive Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was a great change from the usual. It doesn't seem to keep well for the next days lunch. You'll enjoy this the most the night it's made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I like - S and K not wild -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by simplyjayce
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Very good blend of ingredients, cooking it @ 350 deg for 1 hour is not enough to make it tender-- with the rack in the middle of the oven, give it at least 1.5hrs, if you want it more tender, maybe an extra 15mins. add a good amount of salt, i used 1 tsp but it's lacking a pinch at every bite. don't disregard this recipe so easily, my husband devoured 3 servings of it, and he's been on a strict diet prior :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I was expecting something more special. But still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I don't like prunes, so I used raisins. I marinated it overnight in a plastic bag so it would absorb more of the flavor, rather than just in the dish. What I am going to try differently next time is reducing the wine mixture quite a bit after baking. Because it's so thin, it's hard to appreciate the flavor, since it doesn't really stick to anything. Aside from that, it's absolutely delicious, and I'm definitely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I had seen this recipe in The Silver Palate cookbook years ago, but I could never figure out how to decrease the amount of servings and maintain the flavor. I am so glad that Teresa did the work for me! All my husband could say was WOW...and I thought to myself, enough said. The next time I will increase the amount of prunes, olives and capers, so we have enough to share as my husband hoarded all the olives this time. Thank you again Teresa for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I love this recipe! We use blsl chicken thighs and it is great every time. I was originally just looking for a way to use up the giant jar of capers we got at the food warehouse but we make this about every other week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnorsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Wonderful dish for a crowd... fed even the pickiest eaters. Wondeful flavour.A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Tip: This is a fantastic recipe as is, but it can be improved as follows. Put leftovers in a ziplock bag, squeeze out all the air, and freeze. In a couple of weeks, defrost and heat. The flavors intensify, the meat becomes more tender, the aroma is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Not bad but oddly sweet, next time I'll use fewer prunes. I followed the advice of several reviews and: doubled the sauce, omitted the sugar, used chicken breast instead of a whole chicken, cooked on the stove top and not the oven, and forgot the white wine. Served over Israeli couscous that had been cooked in chicken stock and it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States