Prune and Olive Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I love this recipe! We use blsl chicken thighs and it is great every time. I was originally just looking for a way to use up the giant jar of capers we got at the food warehouse but we make this about every other week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnorsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Wonderful dish for a crowd... fed even the pickiest eaters. Wondeful flavour.A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Tip: This is a fantastic recipe as is, but it can be improved as follows. Put leftovers in a ziplock bag, squeeze out all the air, and freeze. In a couple of weeks, defrost and heat. The flavors intensify, the meat becomes more tender, the aroma is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Not bad but oddly sweet, next time I'll use fewer prunes. I followed the advice of several reviews and: doubled the sauce, omitted the sugar, used chicken breast instead of a whole chicken, cooked on the stove top and not the oven, and forgot the white wine. Served over Israeli couscous that had been cooked in chicken stock and it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very easy and a crowd pleaser! I used 2lbs of chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Flagg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Pretty darn tasty! Did not use wine, just water instead and turned out still very flavorful. Would be nice to add some veggies to it. Goes well over rice or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this twice last week, once just for DH and me the other for New Year's dinner. The first time I used three boneless breasts, the second four. The first I marinated in all the ingredients, the second I added the sugar and wine before placing in the oven. I didn't notice any difference between the two. I don't think it needs to cook for the full hour, but that might just be my oven and the fact that I was cooking boneless breasts. I loved this recipe and intend on making it more often! It is easy for a week night and a very nice dish for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HECTORBOYARDEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I've made this about a dozen times now, it is that good and easy. I toss everything into a ziploc bag and then into the fridge. The only change I made was to increase the sauce by half and I used skinless, boneless chicken instead of a whole chicken. This recipe is pretty much the only reason why I keep capers and prunes in the house. One time I made this with dried apricots, I didn't realize that the bag of prunes on my shelf was empty (darn people putting empties on my pantry shelf!). The sauce is so delish over couscous, but my son especially likes it over noodles, long slurpy ones. Definitely a keeper and fancy enough to serve to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
very delicious - and smells great when marinating. I made this for a teacher's luncheon. Surely not their usual fare for teacher's luncheons! They loved it. I made it that night for my family. It was great, but kids were reluctant to eat the prunes - not the most appealing appearance. I will make it again, though, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I've been using this recipe for years. Every time I make it for company, I get asked for the recipe. It is full of flavour. It is a wonderful dish for company because all of the work is done ahead of time. As many other reviewers suggest, I also double the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States