Prune and Olive Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I doubled everything, except the chicken. Used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. While chicken breasts tend to be dry, this recipe solves the problem. I chopped the olives and the prunes so the sauce would be a bit more uniform and more flavor would be infused in the sauce. I served with rice, which is why I made so much extra sauce - to soak up into the rice and share the goodness. Don't be afraid to serve this at a dinner party or special event without trying it before (we know we all do it) While you may get a few who snub their noses, I suggest you encourage them to try it before telling them what's in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
This is def. classic chicken marbella. Just like my Mom would always make for me. Don't be scared of the ingrediants...I am NOT a prune fan, but this is the best chicken ever. I always reserve the sauce it cooks in and serve it in a bowl on the table to dip the chicken in. To me it is better when you add the brown sugar and the wine to the marinade instead of just sprinkling it over the chicken before it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
We made this dish in a cooking class that I attended at Williams-Sonoma. It is supposed to be Matt Laur's (Today Show) favorite recipe. I can see why! It is a fabulous dish! I would never have tried it if it weren't for the cooking class. I've made it several times now at home.MMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
We really enjoyed this recipe! I have seen this recipe around other sites and it was constantly raved about, but I kept avoiding it because I hate olives, never had capers, and never thought of putting prunes in a chicken dish. But I finally took the plunge and made this, only I used 8 boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of whole pieces, and I pureed a whole head of garlic for the marinade, used Kalamata olives, and increased the other ingredients in the marinade as follows: 1/2 cup olive oil and vinegar 1/2 cup brown sugar 2 small jars capers 1 cup each olives and prunes 4 bay leaves This was so easy to throw together and is perfect for company because all you have to do is throw the chicken into the oven and about 10 minutes before it's done, you can steam some rice or cook some couscous and steam some broccoli or asparagus, allowing you to spend more time with your family or guests. This dish is also great cold as leftovers. Don't let the strange ingredients intimidate you! It is absolutely delicious in its flavor and you can always push aside the items you don't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Who knew that these flavors would mesh so well? I doubled the sauce; the mixture (including brown sugar & wine, but excluding bay leaves) got blended into a chunky puree, and I reserved some for adding at the table. I marinated about 3 lbs. boneless skinless chicken breasts in the mixture, plus bay leaves, overnight. In the morning, I threw it all in the slow cooker, cooked on low for about 8 hrs, & voila! Tender, delicious, tangy; a perfect Mediterranean dish. Served with couscous and a green salad. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Incredible! I've made this up in freezer bags and stored the dinners for the future, thawing them overnight. Six different families did this with me and EVERYONE loved them. We used kalamta olives instead. Make this tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I don't like prunes or olives... but I was told, to get the right taste I had to cook everything together. IT WAS AMAZING! I baked it all together (including sauce) in a dish for an hour and served it over Angel Hair pasta. It was quite possibly the best meal I have ever had. It wouldn't have been something I would have normally tried, but I am DEFINITELY glad I did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
Like peanut butter and jelly, the flavor combination of sweet, creamy and tangy prunes with salty, crunchy olives sounds insane until you try it. It is a beautiful, elegant, yet unusual dish for company. It doubles very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
Tasty chicken dish - my husband and kids loved it, too. You can use a little less brown sugar and it will still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I liked this dish, however, my family didn't feel the same. They didn't think it was anything special. I might make this again, only adding more olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States