Prune and Olive Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
It's way too sweet for me! If ever I'll cook it again, I'll omit the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This recipe was incredible! I have to say I was a little concerned about how it would turn out with all the unique flavors combined, so I didn't make it for company. Now I wished I had because it was absolutely wonderful! It was a little sweet for my husband, but perfect for me! I did double the marinade and served with couscous! Thanks for the great recipe! I will be making this for dinner guests from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I would change the title to Chicken Mirabella....Olive and Prune Chicken doesn't sound very appetizing! This recipe is awesome!! I followed some of the advice and put all the ingredients together and marinated for 36 hours. I did double the sauce as well and added green olives and kalamata olives....which I think, gave it a more earthy flavorful punch. My company and husband and two young children wanted to lick their plates! Definately a keeper. Give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Love it! I had something quite similar at a wonderful restaurant (Gower Street Bistro) in Cannon Beach, Oregon. I was very happy to find this. I had a hard time finding it, though. Retitling the recipe as Chicken Marbella would be helpful. I agree with the other reviewers who doubled the sauce. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Happy Valley, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This is an excellent chicken dinner. Will make this dish at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I increased the prunes a bit, doubled the olives and added a bit more sugar. Definitely will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Foley Wanner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westwood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Fabulous recipe that even my kids love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This is great as is. I double the sauce and serve it over couscous with green salad. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe. I consulted the "Silver Palate" and other sources, and made the following adaptations: I minced an entire head of garlic in my food processor, and added twice the prunes and olives, plus the capers and pulsed until it was a uniform mince......marinated for 4 hours and then slow cooked on low for 5 hours.....fabulous stuff! Served with green beans and ancini pasta with pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHMCSHANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
A good recipe. Definetly increase the prunes and olives. I left the skin on and wish that I didn't. I think I will use boneless pieces next time to make it easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States