Prune and Olive Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
For all the rave reviews this dish has had, both here and in other sources, my expectations were high. Sadly, this was disappointing. I made it for New Year's Eve, followed the directions exactly,and ended up with a somewhat ordinary and slightly bitter entree. I will continue my search for the perfect company dish, and move on from this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Awesome and unusual dish! I would triple the sauce recipe. Great dish for company. I will make again. Takes a bit of prep time, but marinading over night was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is a great recipe and would be great for company. It looks really beautiful. I used black figs instead of prunes, b/c I already had them on hand (I was also afraid of the recipe being too sweet so I figured this was ok) and increased the garlic amount. Chopped up all the sauce ingredients in the food processor and marinated for 18 hours or so. Served w/ coucous cooked in chicken stock. It's perfect. I loved it, my sister loved it, my husband liked the chicken, but not the sauce. He rarely likes meat and fruit together. Still, I plan to make it again - maybe for girls' night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is my "food for thought" that I bring to friends in need of a meal. It is so easy, and always delicious. We serve it with angel hair pasta and steamed baby spinach. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I made this for a baby shower along with other Mediterranean dishes and it was a big hit. Very easy too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Baker City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was an interesting dish. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Make this for people and don't tell them what is in it. It is a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
It's way too sweet for me! If ever I'll cook it again, I'll omit the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This recipe was incredible! I have to say I was a little concerned about how it would turn out with all the unique flavors combined, so I didn't make it for company. Now I wished I had because it was absolutely wonderful! It was a little sweet for my husband, but perfect for me! I did double the marinade and served with couscous! Thanks for the great recipe! I will be making this for dinner guests from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I would change the title to Chicken Mirabella....Olive and Prune Chicken doesn't sound very appetizing! This recipe is awesome!! I followed some of the advice and put all the ingredients together and marinated for 36 hours. I did double the sauce as well and added green olives and kalamata olives....which I think, gave it a more earthy flavorful punch. My company and husband and two young children wanted to lick their plates! Definately a keeper. Give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States