Prune and Olive Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
You would never think that these flavors would go well together, but they are incredible! No wonder it is a classic! My children and husband love this dish...and they are not fans of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca2220

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I doubled everything except the chicken to make the sauce/marinade. I used 6 boneless skinless chicken thighs with that amount of sauce and the proportions were just about right, maybe would make a bit more sauce. I marinated it over night and then baked it for 45mins at 350 degrees. I didn't like the taste of the parsley as a garnish, so would likely try it with cilantro as I have seen that used as a garnish on a different recipe. Overall I liked the uniqueness of this recipe and would like to make it again. I can't rate it higher than a 4 though because it really doesn't look that appealing, so you have to clarify to guests that the dish isn't burnt before serving it (because the prunes make it look that way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Great recipe. Instead of the whole chicken I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I also added the brown sugar and white wine to the marinade. The aroma was fantastic and this dish tasted very good. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ackerman, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I have made this several times and it is both my favorite and a crowd-pleaser! I marinated it in a disposable roasting pan and took to a girls weekend. Easy and delicious! I ADD half a cup of APRICOTS to this. Can be enjoyed with rice or pasta. This recipe is not to be missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
My daughter wanted a homemade Mediterranean dinner for her birthday. All I knew about Mediterranean was hummus and couscous, so I turned to allrecipes for help and found this. FABULOUS! Everyone loved it and the birthday girl was very happy. We served it with couscous and roasted artichoke hearts (frozen bag) drizzled with balsamic vinegar & a bit of olive oil, salt & pepper. To tie the artichokes in with the main dish, I threw in a few handfuls of golden raisins for the last 10 minutes of roasting. When storing the leftovers, we put the artichokes right in with the chicken and that was very tasty too. And instead of birthday cake, she had Baklava (again from allrecipes). Thank you, Theresa for this recipe and to Neonwillie for the Baklava. Thanks to allrecipes and you, I was able to make my daughter's special day that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
delicious! chicken is moist and there is SO much flavor in this dish!!!!! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This recipe is reallllllyyy Good, the chicken melted of the bone, I added potatoes to the recipe, I precooked the potatoes and then added them to the tray as the chicken was cooking slowly in the over. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Awesome recipe! I cook this whenever I want to impress my guests even though it's really simple to make. I usually use chicken breasts verses a whole chicken just because it's usually all I have. I don't always marinate it and it comes out just as good and I usually double everything except the chicken because the flavor's so delicious. I highly recommend this recipe, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylorsville, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This was very good and elegant. I used 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts which I pounded out first and marinated it for about 6 hours. The flavors are a great combination however for 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, I think the next time I may cut down on the oregano a little bit (this may just be a personal preference rather than a suggestion, I am not totally crazy about oregano). Worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I was excited about trying this dish after reading the reviews, but found it sadly lacking in flavor. I don't know how it happened because the marinade was certainly aromatic, but the chicken just tasted flat. Also, I think it has too much sugar for my taste. I might toy around with it a little for future use. The chicken did come out very moist. I used skinless thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States