Prune and Olive Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
We really enjoyed this recipe! I have seen this recipe around other sites and it was constantly raved about, but I kept avoiding it because I hate olives, never had capers, and never thought of putting prunes in a chicken dish. But I finally took the plunge and made this, only I used 8 boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of whole pieces, and I pureed a whole head of garlic for the marinade, used Kalamata olives, and increased the other ingredients in the marinade as follows: 1/2 cup olive oil and vinegar 1/2 cup brown sugar 2 small jars capers 1 cup each olives and prunes 4 bay leaves This was so easy to throw together and is perfect for company because all you have to do is throw the chicken into the oven and about 10 minutes before it's done, you can steam some rice or cook some couscous and steam some broccoli or asparagus, allowing you to spend more time with your family or guests. This dish is also great cold as leftovers. Don't let the strange ingredients intimidate you! It is absolutely delicious in its flavor and you can always push aside the items you don't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This is the best, easiest recipe when cooking for a lot of people. I used a large disposable pan, so clean up was easy also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
I tried this a different way the other morning...I did NOT marinate. I placed everything in a slow cooker in the morning...LOTS of prunes & olives and probably 50% more wine! NO CAPERS for me. When I got home...to die for & so most. I used bone in breasts, no skin. Let's just say VERY YUMMY and I will make it this way again and again. Too easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Prunes and olives...sounds pretty weird, doesn't it? I like prunes and olives, so I figured, what the heck... This dish is unusual, but surprisingly, everything works together well, and it is pretty good. However, I can't eat a whole lot at once or several times in a row. I don't like capers, so I omitted those. I like how the sweetness of the brown sugar and prunes blends with the sourness of the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I had to change this recipe slightly as no one in my family likes olives. I used dried apricots instead and deleted the brown sugar because the dried fruit is sweet enough. I also (by mistake!) put the wine in the marinade so the fruit soaked it all up after 12 hours. Before baking added 1/4 cup of chicken stock and 1/4 extra cup of wine. I used 2 chicken breasts cut up into pieces which took about 30mins to cook. This dish is VERY VERY yummy and heartwarming. I urge others to give it a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Unbelievably Delicious!!! I saw this recipe, read the reviews and I had to try it. Curiosity got the best of me. It sounded to odd to be good. It was fabulous!! My husband raved over how delicious it was. I served it with couscous. If you're even remotely curious..you've got to try it...you won't be disapppointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
The first time we've had Greek recipe, We loved it. and it's so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Possum Trot, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
This was a great chicken dinner. The flavor was delicious, I added more olives like other reviewers said and didn't have time to marinate more than 5 hours. But it was great anyway and I will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I liked this dish, however, my family didn't feel the same. They didn't think it was anything special. I might make this again, only adding more olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
We made this dish in a cooking class that I attended at Williams-Sonoma. It is supposed to be Matt Laur's (Today Show) favorite recipe. I can see why! It is a fabulous dish! I would never have tried it if it weren't for the cooking class. I've made it several times now at home.MMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States