Prune and Olive Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This is very good, I make it often now. I add a whole can of olives and have made it without all the marinating and it still turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
This is a great recipe! I use boneless breasts and bone-in. I just cook the bone in longer. Don't do any fancy accompanyments, just plain rice or a green salad and you are good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
My family loves this dish, and it is great to serve for a large group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
This is def. classic chicken marbella. Just like my Mom would always make for me. Don't be scared of the ingrediants...I am NOT a prune fan, but this is the best chicken ever. I always reserve the sauce it cooks in and serve it in a bowl on the table to dip the chicken in. To me it is better when you add the brown sugar and the wine to the marinade instead of just sprinkling it over the chicken before it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This is a wow! Ten minutes after it was in the oven the whole kitchen smelled wonderful. I used boneless, skinless thighs and baked at 375 degrees for 50 minutes. Juicy and tender. The only other change I made was to eliminate the brown sugar. Can't wait to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
We really enjoyed this recipe! I have seen this recipe around other sites and it was constantly raved about, but I kept avoiding it because I hate olives, never had capers, and never thought of putting prunes in a chicken dish. But I finally took the plunge and made this, only I used 8 boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of whole pieces, and I pureed a whole head of garlic for the marinade, used Kalamata olives, and increased the other ingredients in the marinade as follows: 1/2 cup olive oil and vinegar 1/2 cup brown sugar 2 small jars capers 1 cup each olives and prunes 4 bay leaves This was so easy to throw together and is perfect for company because all you have to do is throw the chicken into the oven and about 10 minutes before it's done, you can steam some rice or cook some couscous and steam some broccoli or asparagus, allowing you to spend more time with your family or guests. This dish is also great cold as leftovers. Don't let the strange ingredients intimidate you! It is absolutely delicious in its flavor and you can always push aside the items you don't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This is the best, easiest recipe when cooking for a lot of people. I used a large disposable pan, so clean up was easy also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
I tried this a different way the other morning...I did NOT marinate. I placed everything in a slow cooker in the morning...LOTS of prunes & olives and probably 50% more wine! NO CAPERS for me. When I got home...to die for & so most. I used bone in breasts, no skin. Let's just say VERY YUMMY and I will make it this way again and again. Too easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Prunes and olives...sounds pretty weird, doesn't it? I like prunes and olives, so I figured, what the heck... This dish is unusual, but surprisingly, everything works together well, and it is pretty good. However, I can't eat a whole lot at once or several times in a row. I don't like capers, so I omitted those. I like how the sweetness of the brown sugar and prunes blends with the sourness of the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I had to change this recipe slightly as no one in my family likes olives. I used dried apricots instead and deleted the brown sugar because the dried fruit is sweet enough. I also (by mistake!) put the wine in the marinade so the fruit soaked it all up after 12 hours. Before baking added 1/4 cup of chicken stock and 1/4 extra cup of wine. I used 2 chicken breasts cut up into pieces which took about 30mins to cook. This dish is VERY VERY yummy and heartwarming. I urge others to give it a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 101-110 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States