Provincial Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I loved these as did our dinner guest, and both in taste as well as presentation I was proud to serve them. (Hubs didn't like them but he doesn't count because he doesn't like Parmesan or Asiago cheese). I used Panko bread crumbs and mixed olive oil right into the cheese/crumb mixture rather than drizzling it over the top. The topping was flavorful, light, crispy and golden brown and I was lucky to have red-ripe Roma tomatoes to begin with. Beautiful and delicious addition to the dinner plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Wow! These are so tasty! They can be a meal in and of themselves. This is nice because it can work as an appetizer or a side. Quick and easy, but tastes like you spent a long time. I love the blend of flavors! This is a definite keeper especially with fresh garden tomatoes over the summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I used fresh picked heirloom tomatoes, panko bread crumbs and EVOO. Our garden is overflowing, so I will be making this again. Next time it will be on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
really good flavor. definitely stick with harder tomatoes. we used vine ripened and found that they got too mushy. i would recommend hard romas. also added a bit more oregano. yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I think I would rather eat a plain tomato with salt. I really tried to like this recipe but I think I just don't like the texture of the tomatoes. I will try these with some fresh romas from my garden very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
This recipe is an extremely nice "stand around the kitchen table" snack. The guests helped to prepare it, and when it was eaten everyone was awestruck by the flavours created from the common, simple ingredients. It's a perfect snack recipe for Yuppies, and other mindless people. Peace and love, Paul
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Overall, very good. Nice texture with the toasty bread crumbs and parmesan cheese. I also added a garlic and herb cheese spread to the top, before sprinkling on the parmesan/bread crumb mixture, and it added a really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Found these to be quick and tasty. Went well with my grilled filet mignon, wasabi garlic mashed potatoes and green beans. Used Italian seasoned bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Delicious and very easy....I used only Parmesan as I didn't have the Asiago cheese. It was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by Sue
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
These were exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Mannington, West Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States