Provincial Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Pretty yummy....made no changes...easy and tasty side dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was excellent! I just used one smallish "on the vine" tomato and cut it into about 1/2" slices. I thought 1/4" slices would be a little skimpy. I used romano instead of asiago, because that's want I had. At first I thought there should be more bread crumbs (I used panko), but instead followed the recipe as written. And I'm glad I did. The topping was light and crispy and wonderful! This recipe gets 5* in my book, but I do have some issues with it. I broiled this on the middle rack for the full 5 minutes and although the topping was perfect, even my thicker slices had turned to mush. I'm going to try this again and either broil closer to the top of the oven for a much shorter period of time, or I'll bake them briefly - just to warm through - and then pop them under the broiler to crisp/brown the topping. I can also see halving the tomato instead of slicing. I want to perfect this in time for our wonderful summer tomatoes which I know will make this even better! With a few tweaks, this ones a keeper for me! Thank you. **UPDATE** 8/23/10 - I have made these a number of times now and I've found I get the best results by halving the tomatoes and just sticking them under the broiler. No mushy tomatoes that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These were very good! Made them just as written and everyone enjoyed them. I can't wait to make them with home grown tomatoes! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
One of my most favorite ways to eat tomatoes. I use panko crumbs instead of bread crumbs or if I'm really broke, Ritz cracker crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I loved these as did our dinner guest, and both in taste as well as presentation I was proud to serve them. (Hubs didn't like them but he doesn't count because he doesn't like Parmesan or Asiago cheese). I used Panko bread crumbs and mixed olive oil right into the cheese/crumb mixture rather than drizzling it over the top. The topping was flavorful, light, crispy and golden brown and I was lucky to have red-ripe Roma tomatoes to begin with. Beautiful and delicious addition to the dinner plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
a delicious, easy appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Fantastic! We sliced grape tomatoes and left out the asiago cheese (since we didn't have any), but the result was still superb. The broiler heated the tops of the tomatoes before the bottoms were heated through, so we threw the tomatoes in the oven for about 3 minutes, and then it was cooked to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Nice alternative to a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I think I would rather eat a plain tomato with salt. I really tried to like this recipe but I think I just don't like the texture of the tomatoes. I will try these with some fresh romas from my garden very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Made this recipe the first time to go with pork chops for dinner, and was realy pleased with it. Made them the next time to go with the Marinated Grilled Shrimp recipe from this site, for a ladies group card party, and they just could not get enough. Every one raved about them. The secret is to make sure you get good solid tomatoes, not over ripe ones. The only way I could find grated Asiago cheese was in a pre-packaged mixture of Asiago, Romano and Parmesan. Worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States