Protein Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by izzybites
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I had to modify this quite a bit, but the result was surprisingly good and much healthier than the original recipe. I cut out the oil COMPLETELY and did not replace it with anything. I substituted whole wheat flower, No-Salt (a salt substitute), 1/3 cup of egg beaters (instead of whole eggs), Truvia mixed with 1/4 cup of sugar and cut out the nuts entirely. It also needed more than 16 mins in the oven. Also, the recipe fails to mention that Whey protein should be used- others curdle in high heat. I prefer vanilla Xrated Complete Whey Protein Powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Moist flavorful, and no one will know there is very little fat. I used plain Greek yogurt ,vanilla extract, and raw sugar, as well as WW pastry flour for a little more of a clean version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I was excited when I found this recipe because I felt it would be a healthy way for me to have something sweet. However, I have tried to make them a couple of times but they do not rise. They come out heavy and they aren't very good. I don't know if I am doing something wrong but I don't think I will try to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I add protein to recipes by substituting cottage cheese for milk and sometimes oil. I made the Pumpkin Nut muffins (on this site) and used cottage cheese instead of buttermilk and doubled the amount of nuts. They were great and had natural sources of protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dro, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This recipe was WWWWWWWWWWWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYY out of whack. These are the modifications I made: cut the oil in half, increase the flour by a cup, and half the protein. Also, reduce the spices. With these modifications, the muffins turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dalittlebear1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Girdwood, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Came out perfect the first time! I used whole wheat flour and Splenda for baking; EVERYONE loved these...even my non-healthier eating peeps! Cook for longer than recommended if you use regular size cupcake pan...I used mini and they came out perfect at about 12 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This recipe is great for us health nuts. I gave it a little more health flare by using whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose white, splenda instead of sugar, and 1/4 cup egg beaters instead of 1 whole egg and 1 egg white. I also didn't add walnuts, so they were relatively small and great for a snack. I think next time I might use canola oil instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
These were good but flat and mushy on the inside. I left the protein powder out as we didn't have any and added an equal amount of flour. I think the reciepe may be missing Baking Powder. Not so sure I will try it again to figure out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I got these to bake but the spice was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHIKLET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States