Prosciutto e Melone (Italian Ham and Melon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
A very easy and elegant appetizer - perfect for entertaining guests. You can get creative with the presentation if you like and it's always a hit. This definitely is a fool proof appetizer....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
delicious! although not much of a recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This is one of my favorite appetizers! I just LOVE the combination of the sweetness of the cantaloupe and the saltiness of the prosciutto. This also works great with honeydew. So refreshing and delicious~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I do believe the Italians got this right as this is traditionally a light summer meal that can be found on any table in the country! Wonderful, easy and colorful presentation. Served this as a starter to the Caprese Salad with Grilled Flank Steak also on AR and an Italian Chardonnay from Castello Monsanto which is one of the few Italian white wines that can stand up against prosciutto and hold it's own. Thank you Sunflower for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Fabulous recipe! Simple and basic. Use quality prosciutto and a good melon and you can not go wrong. (Quality prosciutto is not slimy as some reviews note a slimyness) Love the sweetness of the melon offset with the saltyness of the prosciutto. I made this for a picnic and x4 the recipe then used what little was leftover cut into smaller pieces on top of a bed a baby salad greens with a light balsamic vinegrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I hate to do this b/c the recipe is sound, but I made this as an app at a dinner party & it was hardely touched. Personally, I just didn't like the flavor of melon & prosciutto together, although I like them both on their own. I know some ppl love it, so maybe it was just me & my company. The texture was not very.pleasant either. Kinda slimy. My suggestion would be to.serve them seperately (the melon & prosciutto). Thank u anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
basalmic vinager is a great addition!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Extremely easy way to do a refreshing and exquisite appetizer! Or snack... There's just something about the combo - simple and DeLish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Can't go wrong. Seems the silliest recipe ever, but this is a fantastic traditional summertime meal in Italy. No doubt you will find this on every table in Italy from the North to the South. The key is the quality of the prosciutto and the ripeness of the melon. Serve as an antipasto or light meal with classic breadsticks from Turin (long, skinny and crunchy) and a light, dry white wine. Picture attached! Thanks for posting this "recipe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I love love love, Prosciutto & Cantaloupe. Tried it a few years ago on a Cruise from New York to Canada. And requested from the 1st night all the way to the last. I noticed, that one reviewer said, it was slimey and rated it poorly. My experience is if the combination is slimey, then not very good quality of fruit or meat. And possibly left the morsels out to long at room temperature. Suggestion would be to place them on a plate over a bed of ice to keep them cool. Because it shouldn't be slimey at all. However, this does not last very long with my 3 girls and myself. I find that one small package of prisciutto(that comes with 6 slices) and half of a large cantalope goes a long way. At least that's how it worked when I made the recipe. But tasty to say the least. The prosciutto is not salty at all and if you have a juicy ripen sweet melon, the pairing is great. Will make again, especially in the summer months when cantaloupe is at it's best.. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States