Prosciutto and Parmesan Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
I made this recipe using a honey mustart, honey ham, and swiss cheese for a pampered chef party I was hosting - it was delicious. Everyone asked for the recipe. I made them the night before and baked them just before the party (it actually took my 30 minutes to bake). Next time I think I will try roast beef, provolone, and horseradish blend with the pastry sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden Beach, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
I omitted the mustard from the recipe. My husband's family doesn't like mustard. So, I used a little olive oil, garlic powder, black olives and basil instead. I can't eat just one, I have to eat the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2000
I made these for a dinner party ahead of time and wrapped them in cling wrap in the fridge. Then all that had to be done was cut, cook, serve. Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Great recipe! I've made this decadent appetizer twice and everyone loved it both times. The pinwheels were light and flaky and packed with lots of flavour from the prociutto and parmesan. I used a mild lean prociutto thinly sliced and reggiano (the type of parmesan I prefer to use in all my cooking) so that it wouldn't be too salty. I also ended up using 2 large tablespoons of regular dijon mustard as the 2 teaspoons the recipe called for wasn't enough to coat the sheet of pastry. Maybe I'll try hot dijon next time to kick up the flavour meter even more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
These were delicious and easy to make. I don't know why the prep time says 1 hour and 12 minutes. It took me no more than 5 minutes to assemble and place on baking sheet (after pastry was thawed). Do try this one if you're looking for an elegant appetizer with a lot of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2000
These pinwheels were a big hit at one of our office parties! Everyone loved them and they were gone in minutes. The prosciutto and parmesan cheese blends beautifully to make an awesome appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
the mustard in this recipe makes the pinwheels taste yucky every body in my class did not enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
I used honey mustard instead of a strong mustard and the flavor was delicious! Everyone loved these and they were gone in a flash! Quick and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
These were very good. I made them for a party along with the Spinach-Cheese Swirls from this site. I too omitted the mustard and substituted olive oil, garlic powder and fresh ground pepper. Everyone loved them. A great tip that worked for me was to refrigerate the uncut roll for about 15 minutes. This gave the dough time to rest and made cutting very easy. Also, I think it helped with the unraveling problem that others seemed to have. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
My fiance and I absolutely adored these, as did everyone at the party we brought them to. I ended up having to use a little more mustard to cover the pastry entirely, and as someone stated earlier, the cooking time was two to three times longer than the recipe called for. Still, my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States