Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I'm a personal chef, & this recipe gets rave reviews. I agree with other reviewers- blanch the asparagus for 1 minute, plunge into an icewater bath, & drain. I used chive & onion soft cream cheese, and sprayed both the bottom of the pan, as well as tops of finished bundles with olive oil. Also, buy the best prosciutto that you can afford, ths helps with the saltiness factor. Elegant, & good either warm or chilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
843 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
I have a couple of comments on this recipe. I recommend using black forest ham or any other type of deli sliced ham instead of prosciutto. It stands up to the cream cheese much better and goes very nicely with the asparagus. I've made this before as a cold appetizer and it's great that way too. To do this, boil the asparagus for 1-2 minutes (depending on thickness) just until slightly softened. Immediately immerse in ice water. Drain and blot dry. Assemble as directed and refrigerate. You should boil the asparagus even for the cooked version or it will be crunchy. I found that if you boil the asparagus you should reduce the oven time to 7-8 minutes or the ham begins to get too crispy. Really good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
Excellent combination of flavors! Very easy to prepare. Only change I made was peeling the asparagus first. (unless they are pencil thin). Peeling the stalk to about an inch from the tip makes it so tender (removes woody toughness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I followed the recipe to a tee using 2 to 3 asparagus spears in a bundle, and very softened cream cheese. I also tried one asparagus spear and cream cheese w/ the prosciutto...I found that the saltiness of the prosciutto overpowered the single asparagus spear. This side dish is outstanding with asparagus bundles, however ! I would even recommend using many asparagus spears... I was disappointed because we ate all of the asparagus and didn't eat all of the prosciutto, although i LOVE it! No salt needed, it's salty enough! My advice: add more asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Phenomenal. The best asparagus recipe I have seen. Make sure to baste the bundles with olive oil so they don't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This is a quick, easy and very elegant side dish. Like a previous reviewer, I simmered the asparagus (about 3 mins) then immersed it in a bowl of ice cubes and water. They stayed beautifully green even after 12 mins in the oven. Great tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This is great cold appetizer. Blanche asparagas and immerse in icewater. Makes the asparagas bright green. Very Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACALK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
this recipe is excellent. I made it for Easter and it was a huge hit! I peeled the larger asparagus and blanched them all for 1 min then ice bath. I combine white asparagus with green for an awesome presentation. I also used garlic/herb cream cheese. Roasted at 450 for 12 min. YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
OMG! this is a winner!!! it's not only easy to make...but SOOO GOOD!! I made it for new years and even the kids had it! I served it as appetizer and people didn’t have “enough room” in their tummies to have the main dish! The blanching is crucial! And using a very thin slice of Prosciutto is the perfect combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salvamea45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I love impressive and easy recipes! I made this for a food & wine tasting and even my guests who dislike asparagus raved about it. I used provolone instead of the neufchatel and it was delicious, but ran short for the last few and substituted with cream cheese. I served it with store bought pesto sauce. Yum, yum, yum. Even good cold. Pairs very well with Pinot Noir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACY K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Asparagus, Prosciutto and Fontina Tart

See how to make an easy but elegant savory appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States