Prosciutto Fave Minestrone alla Riso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
This is a really good soup and it even got better the longer that it sat. I used diced prosciutto and Great Northern beans because I had no idea what cranberry beans were. Also used instant brown rice (preparing according to the box directions) and it turned out great. Went well with a Berenger Zinfindal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Wow, this was great! I followed the recipe with two changes. I 1 cup of instant brown rice, adding it for the second 10 minutes of the 20 minute simmer, and I added some old bay seasoning to add a little more depth of flavor, even celery salt instead of plain salt will add a little more flavor. We love this and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I'm always on the lookout for low-fat, high fiber recipes so I was excited to try out this soup. I was not disappointed! I made a couple changes. I omitted the bacon - I am watching my cholesterol so decided to skip the fried meat. I couldn't find cranberry beans anywhere, even after making a trip to a health food store and searching high and low. I substituted for those with an extra can of white beans. In sum, the soup was delicious and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This soup was so savory and delicious. My children and husband loved it! I used 'Roman' beans (which are the same as 'Cranberry'), and found them in the ethnic section of the supermarket. I also used 1 1/2 cups of chopped prosciutto, and regular brown rice. This recipe is a 'keeper'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Mmmmmmmmmm! Very good! I made this last night and just got done eating some more of it for lunch. This was easy to make and tastes awesome. I was suprised by how few spices go into this soup, but it's still very full of flavor, any more spices would have been over kill I think. I made this according to the directions and it was great. The only change I made was in the beans, I just bought two cans of white beans, because i couldnt find the ones this called for, but it was still great. Next time I may add some mushrooms or sausage. This recipe is very easy to customize. Thanks for posting this! I'll make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This recipe was delicious!! I could not find the cranberry beans, so I just doubled up on the white beans, but my husband and I really loved it. I see it being a comfort food in my family for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaelgrad01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabasas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Great Recipe...even better the next day. I added a little ham base, because I didn't have any bacon on hand. It added the smokey flavor without much fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This soup is really good-a meal in itself! The one thing I would change would be to add instant brown rice during the last few minutes of cooking, as brown rice takes so much longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is an outstanding soup recipe! I simmered a leftover ham bone in about two quarts of chicken stock (add water if needed) for about 30 minutes or until the meat fell off of the bone. Then,I used 4 slices of regular bacon which I browned with the vegetables as the recipes instructs. I added this mixture to the soup and then tossed in the other ingredients. I added one 15 oz can of Goya small white beans,a can of pinto beans and just one 15 oz can of diced tomatos. I added macaroni noodles at this time and then simmered it all for 30 minutes. I think the beans should be added at the end as the recipe instructs because they do get soft and a whitish foam cooks out of them. But even so, the soup looked and tasted wonderful. Remember that canned chicken broth already has alot of salt in it, so I did not add any - just pepper and parsley. It tastes even better a day later, and I was able to skim off some fat after it sat in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Delicious soup! Quick and easy to prepare. The flavors and incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Gallant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States