Prosciutto Fave Minestrone alla Riso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This recipe was delicious!! I could not find the cranberry beans, so I just doubled up on the white beans, but my husband and I really loved it. I see it being a comfort food in my family for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaelgrad01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabasas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Delicious soup! Quick and easy to prepare. The flavors and incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Gallant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Wow, this was great! I followed the recipe with two changes. I 1 cup of instant brown rice, adding it for the second 10 minutes of the 20 minute simmer, and I added some old bay seasoning to add a little more depth of flavor, even celery salt instead of plain salt will add a little more flavor. We love this and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Great Recipe...even better the next day. I added a little ham base, because I didn't have any bacon on hand. It added the smokey flavor without much fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This soup was sooo good! I left out the bacon and carrots. I put in extra ham. My 3 kids and my husband devoured this soup! My husband wants to make it again today! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This is excellent! Very easy to make. I did add a bit more chicken broth as I might have added a bit more of the veggies in it. My husband, who took one look and said "Yuck" ate three bowls of it and is even going to recommend it to the Italian Restaurant he manages!! We will definitely be serving this often thru the fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I'm always on the lookout for low-fat, high fiber recipes so I was excited to try out this soup. I was not disappointed! I made a couple changes. I omitted the bacon - I am watching my cholesterol so decided to skip the fried meat. I couldn't find cranberry beans anywhere, even after making a trip to a health food store and searching high and low. I substituted for those with an extra can of white beans. In sum, the soup was delicious and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This soup is really good-a meal in itself! The one thing I would change would be to add instant brown rice during the last few minutes of cooking, as brown rice takes so much longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Mmmmmmmmmm! Very good! I made this last night and just got done eating some more of it for lunch. This was easy to make and tastes awesome. I was suprised by how few spices go into this soup, but it's still very full of flavor, any more spices would have been over kill I think. I made this according to the directions and it was great. The only change I made was in the beans, I just bought two cans of white beans, because i couldnt find the ones this called for, but it was still great. Next time I may add some mushrooms or sausage. This recipe is very easy to customize. Thanks for posting this! I'll make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This soup was so savory and delicious. My children and husband loved it! I used 'Roman' beans (which are the same as 'Cranberry'), and found them in the ethnic section of the supermarket. I also used 1 1/2 cups of chopped prosciutto, and regular brown rice. This recipe is a 'keeper'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States