Prosciutto Fave Minestrone alla Riso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This was yummy! The whole family loved it. I used leftover chicken and rice in the soup and 6 ounces of turkey bacon rather than the bacon and ham. I was a bit nervous dumping things in the pot, but it was really good. My chicken and rice was not very good to start with, honestly, but this transformed my leftovers into something wonderful. I was a able to use fresh tomatoes, carrots, and onions from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
We really enjoyed this soup, and I can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow! I used dried white beans, soaked them overnight, rinsed them about an hour and a half before dinner, and cooked the beans in some homemade chicken broth with added water (because my stock is usually really strong). I omitted the cranberry beans, bacon and ham because I didn't want to make a trip to the store. I used double the white beans, some chopped canadian bacon, a can of fire-roasted tomatoes & chilies and fresh mushrooms and kale. Mmmm, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made this soup recipe this cold weekend and was pleasantly surprised. Flavor was great. I used fresh tomatoes since I didn't have canned. Added a bay leaf and used dried peas instead of canned since I had them. I did soak the beans in boiling water for a few hours. I think the next time I would like to add some Kielbasi for additional flavor. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was wonderful. I didn't see cranberry beans in the store so I substituted Great Northern as another reviewer mentioned. Otherwise I stuck to the recipe as-is and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe. I used the original recipe once and have since modified it to meet the tastes of my family. Easy in the slow cooker too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This recipe had a wonderful base, but needed something. I added fresh basil and some dried oregano. Also used low sodium broth and bacon. We substituted dried pasta for the rice, as I did not have any at the time. My family loved it. Even the grand kids came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
For some reason, I didn't care for this soup. I found that it lacked taste, and I didn't like the combination of all the ingredients. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This soup is FABULOUS! All 5 of my kids liked it, and that is nothing short of a miracle. There are so few things outside of mac & cheese, chicken nuggets, and pizza that please them all, but this soup did. This one will be a regular in our household. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Absolutely delicious!! My husband kept saying, between spoonfuls, "This is soooo good! This is one of the bset soups I've ever had in my life!" I was worried with all of the bacon (cooked in oil, no less) that it would be greasy, but it was not at all. The fat content is actually relatively low when you consider the huge amount of soup it makes. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is an outstanding soup recipe! I simmered a leftover ham bone in about two quarts of chicken stock (add water if needed) for about 30 minutes or until the meat fell off of the bone. Then,I used 4 slices of regular bacon which I browned with the vegetables as the recipes instructs. I added this mixture to the soup and then tossed in the other ingredients. I added one 15 oz can of Goya small white beans,a can of pinto beans and just one 15 oz can of diced tomatos. I added macaroni noodles at this time and then simmered it all for 30 minutes. I think the beans should be added at the end as the recipe instructs because they do get soft and a whitish foam cooks out of them. But even so, the soup looked and tasted wonderful. Remember that canned chicken broth already has alot of salt in it, so I did not add any - just pepper and parsley. It tastes even better a day later, and I was able to skim off some fat after it sat in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States