Prosciutto Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
This is definitely a 5-star hit, if you add in gorgonzola cheese with the ricotta...otherwise, it's a bit bland, as another person noted. even feta would be a nice addition...however, i prefer gorgonzola for it's hearty flavor. I served this at a dinner party...everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I used this recipe this weekend for a party. It was one of many and was the only one that I was a little hesitant about because the prosciutto is a little salty. I love salty but most don't. It turned out that everyone loved it. 12 guests asked for the recipe. I changed the recipe slightly - here's what I did - I stuffed the cups with a piece of blue cheese, then covered it with the ricotta mixed with parmesan, nutmeg, pepper & salt then baked them. I then topped them with fig sauce. The fig sauce (for the Canadians it's PC Memories of Tuscany sauce)really made it. Gave it a little sweet/tangy taste to offset some of the salt from the prosciutto. Frankie, just want say thanks for the recipe. I don't think I'd have ever thought to use prosciutto as a cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
Made two ways. Half as written and half using pepperoni slices. The pepperoni version was completely gone while a few of the prosciutto were left. Just a bit to salty. If I were to make again I think I would try a bit of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Using proscioutto as "cups" was fast, easy and flavorful but the filling was pretty bland. I'd try it again, mabye with chive-flavored cream cheese or by added parmesan cheese to the ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
This was made for a good-bye party and was a huge hit. For anyone who thinks the recipe was a bit bland, make sure you have good prosciutto. Defiantly a keeper and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I made this recipe according to the ingredients listed but I also added some parmesan cheese, fresh ground pepper and a pinch of salt. All of my guests and husband just loved them!! This recipe has become one of my favorite appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was great to me because I took some other reviewer's advice and added different cheeses to the filling. I bought expensive Boar's Head Prosciutto sliced sandwich style and made 24 mini-muffin cups full and had PLENTY of prosciutto left. So I may only get about a half pound next time. The cups were a little difficult to make, but if the meat starts falling apart, just shove it in there. It seems to hold its shape well after baking. I mixed 1/2 cup of ricotta w/ 1/2 cup of feta a bit of parmesan. I used all 10oz of a frozen spinach package so mine was REALLY spinachy. I would recommend mixing the garlic in with the ricotta to get an even mix. The garlic kind of stuck in one corner after mixing and left some bites a bit TOO garlicky (if that is possible :)) the end product was good. It was a nice low carb addition to the gathering. It went really well with red wine. It also was very good cooled down or hot. It reheated well the next morning in the microwave for breakfast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Deeeelicious! I used the ingredients as written with the only addition of S & P and 1 Tbsp of Parmesan Cheese for added flavoring as suggested by other readers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conkhouz99

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made these as an appetizer for Thanksgiving and the whole family loved them. I took the advice of other reviewers' and added black pepper, parmesan cheese, and nutmeg to the ricotta/spinach filling. We loved how the proscuitto cups held the filling. You could be really creative in what you used to fill these cups: for example, mushrooms sauteed with balsamic vinegar and mozzarella cheese, etc. A beautiful appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Oh my god!! Marry me Frankie. Didn't change a thing. HUbba Hubba.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

All about Prosciutto

Learn all about this salty cured ham.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States