Prosciutto Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Made this for a New Year's Eve party. Delish! Of course it's salty - prosciutto turns salty was naked, fried, whatever. In fact it's always salty. That's what makes it delish. That's why you don't add salt to the cheese !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
These were a hit for our Christmas dinner as an app. I added parm to the cheese mix and they tasted so good. They took a lot longer in the oven to crisp up. Might of been putting two trays in the same oven. Might invest in silicone cups to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Fantastic! Very easy to make. I read thru all the other comments and incorporated all the suggestions from everyone else & it was a masterpiece. In addition to the original recipe, I added feta, parmesan, chive & onion flavored cream cheese, salt, cracked pepper & nutmeg. I had trouble finding fig sauce on short notice, but substituted drizzling honey on the tops & it was a hit! The baked prosciutto salty & sweet honey was absolutely divine. My mind races with all the different combinations I can try. Can't wait for another opportunity to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very easy. I made these in 5 minutes and just let bake. We tried them for breakfast and I made them in regular muffin pans--I had prosciutto to use up, but it's very long and wide and 2x the size of normal prosciutto (that's Costco for you) so I would've have to slice it and didn't want to deal with it. So I made about 6 of these cups and put in cheese and egg in the remaining prosciutto cups, then baked at 350 for a half hour. Really good! This was a nice breakfast, and the eggs worked perfectly too. Now I have breakfast for the rest of the week, always a bonus! I did add some bacon and some seasoned salt to the prosciutto cups--tasty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Loved the concept of the prosciutto cups....I often use wonton wrappers as cups, but one of our dinner guests was allergic to gluten, so this was an ideal solution! I used an alternative filling of low-fat mayo, chopped artichoke hearts, a tad of minced garlic + some feta. Rather than parmesan (which would only make it saltier), I stirred in some shredded mozzarrela. These were a hit! Next time, I'll add some diced sun-dried tomatoes & italian seasoning. Be sure cool sufficiently prior to serving. Thanks for this versatile & creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Used half feta and half ricotta and a bit of parm. as cheese mix and a bit of salt and pepper. Add the garlic to the ricotta to blend easier. Used less spinach than called for and only need about 1/2 lb prosciutto for 24 cups. They were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was an easy and delicious appetizer!!! I used chopped creamed spinach to add extra flavor and black pepper! Huge hit among friends, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
We only had 1/4 pound of prosciutto, but we still were able to make 16, other ingredients were exactly as listed (we used fat free ricotta). It was absolutely delicious! The filling balances out the saltiness of the prosciutto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was great to me because I took some other reviewer's advice and added different cheeses to the filling. I bought expensive Boar's Head Prosciutto sliced sandwich style and made 24 mini-muffin cups full and had PLENTY of prosciutto left. So I may only get about a half pound next time. The cups were a little difficult to make, but if the meat starts falling apart, just shove it in there. It seems to hold its shape well after baking. I mixed 1/2 cup of ricotta w/ 1/2 cup of feta a bit of parmesan. I used all 10oz of a frozen spinach package so mine was REALLY spinachy. I would recommend mixing the garlic in with the ricotta to get an even mix. The garlic kind of stuck in one corner after mixing and left some bites a bit TOO garlicky (if that is possible :)) the end product was good. It was a nice low carb addition to the gathering. It went really well with red wine. It also was very good cooled down or hot. It reheated well the next morning in the microwave for breakfast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I like others found the filling bland and the proscuitto too salty after it was cooked. I was convinced it would balance each other out, but the taste just wasn't there for me. I added fresh grated parm and lemon zest to the ricotta. Overall disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

All about Prosciutto

Learn all about this salty cured ham.

Smokey Sausage Cups

See how to make sausage in bite-size Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry cups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States