Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Brilliant! I prepared this for my British husband with a few alterations, and he *really* enjoyed it! I reduced the cinnamon to 1/4 tsp, and next time I'll use even less. I also used less cheese since we're trying to lighten things up around here. And, because we didn't have ground beef, I used ground Bison - let me tell you... it was AMAZING! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Angus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This recipe was wonderful! My husand and I are trying to cook more and eat out less We loved it. We are new to cooking and this was very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCCASTRO

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
It says to use a pie PLATE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lov_2_cook&eat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I'm British and I LOVE this recipe. Most of the time I use slightly less cheese to because I like the texture of the straight potato browned on top. So long as you use fresh ingredients, it is wonderful to enjoy the taste of the carrots and mashed potato and beef mixture. Often I don't have tomato paste on hand and have used some kind of tomato sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made this for a family Christmas party and it was well received by all. I didn't add the cut up potatoes because of the potatoes on top. I did add a large can of green beans, peas and corn though to add to the amount per serving. I also added some Savory for an added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YankeeCat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I decided that I wanted to challenge my culinary class one day and this was the recipe to picked to do it with. I spent 4 months in Scotland so I was afraid that they would ruin my fond memories. However I was wrong, and my inner city kids actually did a great job following the recipe and making a dish that brought me back to sitting at the Crags in Edinburgh Scotland. However there was a couple minor changes I made. 1. I decreased the amount of cinnamon just slightly. 2. added a tablespoon of worchestire (sorry I can never spell this right and there is no spell check) sauce. With this said it is an easy recipe to follow and produces a great product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I'm staying with my folks while building a house, they have NOTHING for seasoning in their cupboards, I couldn't believe it. Anyway, I didn't have an onion, Italian seasoning, or parsley, I chose to omit the cinnamon. I used a bag of mixed veggies, and sad to say ketchup instead of tomoto paste. I used minced garlic in my meat mixture and some worchestire sauce(no salt and pepper). I made the potatos the way I always do, and used much more cheese. I was very pleasently surprised at how tasty this was, even without all the ingrediants. I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
SO good.. I halved the recipe (just for the hubby and I) and used a bread pan instead of a pie plate. The only things I changed were using my normal mashed potato recipe, boiling the carrots before adding to the beef mixture, and adding some frozen peas. I also only put a couple dashes of cinnamon and it complimented the dish nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Great! However the cinnamon was a bit strange- I "subed" it with nutmeg the second time around and found it more to our liking. A good hearty fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The 13 year old loved it. Didn't use the crust, but can see a need for it with the saucy meat. The small pieces of carrots cooked through, but threw the texture off for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hancock, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States