Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The 13 year old loved it. Didn't use the crust, but can see a need for it with the saucy meat. The small pieces of carrots cooked through, but threw the texture off for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hancock, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
We love this recipe. With a couple of changes, it turned out just like the one's we had in England. I added 1/2 tsp thyme, 1/4 tsp sage to the other herbs. To the beef broth and tomatoe paste I added 1 T Worcestershire. I cut back the butter to 2 T and the milk to 1/4 cup. MMM good! Thanks Caroline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This is good. I used ketchup instead of the tomato paste and I made my mashed potatoes the way I normally do, other than that I followed the recipe to the tee. I will likely make it again even thought my kids still like lambs meat rather than ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
If you're looking for tummy-rubbing, comfort-food, look no further than Cottage Pie! I love making this recipe, and the only changes that I've made are adding peas (my British bud always put peas in his Cottage & Shepherd Pies), & I've gotten to the point of just using instant mashed potatoes (I know, I know, Laaaaazy) but for a quick, wonderful family meal, it totally works, and totally disappears in a puff of "mmm."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
The great thing about cottage pie and shepards pies is they are so versatile. I'm Irish and I grew up eating these types of food. My husband even like it and he's cajun. Now that I tried the recipe I might tweek it a little next time. Going to save it in my favorites. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This was very good but a little bland. With the addition of some garlic and a few other seasonings, it will definately be a 5 star recipe. The perfect meal for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Really enjoy this recipe. make it often. I add some corn and peas too. Only criticism is that when I serve it on the plate, it doesn't really hold its form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kangaroo495

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I haven't made cottage pie in years so had to find a recipe to remind me of the ingredients. Found this recipe and it was DELICIOUS!!! My hubby and I enjoyed it so much. I made some minor changes after reading the reviews (and from what I can remember of making it years ago)....I used tomato sauce (ketchup) instead of tomato paste and I added a couple of dashes worcestershire sauce and did not have to use salt. I also discovered that I did not have enough potatoes, so added a sweet potato to the mashed potato...this was delicious and gave the pie a sweetish taste!! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uitenhage, Eastern Cape, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Pretty good. Will probably make again, but with more vegetables. Also, turned out a bit greasier that I'd like (and I tried to drain the grease before putting the meat mixture in the baking dish). Definitely use lean ground beef for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieHomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
loved it!! Easy and cheap to make and very filling. I used ketchup instead of tomato paste and I didnt have italian seasoning so i just sprinkled in a few spices from my cabinet such as oregano and thyme..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States