Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I tweaked this recipe to my own tastes (I hardly ever follow any recipe exactly). I added a little more cinnamon than the recipe calls for and it wasn't overpowering at all. I also added some hot madras curry powder, cumin, garlic powder, worcestershire sauce, 2T extra tom. paste, and red pepper flakes to give it a little kick. Like some have suggested, just make the mashed potatoes the way you like them. It's not necessary to follow the recipe's measurements or methods. I tweaked the mashed potatoes by adding crumbled bacon and cheddar cheese to mine. I doubled the entire recipe and filled two 9x9 deep dish store-bought pie crusts. I didn't realize at the time that the crusts were lightly sweetened, but they actually enhanced the overall character of the dish, giving it a delicately sweet, very savory flavor with a nice kick. While my end product may not be considered "proper" by cottage pie purists, it was definitely fantastic and will become a regular on my dinner table. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison and Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
A good basic starter recipe for a nice easy comfort meal. I added frozen peas, carrots, & corn to the beef mix to sneak more veggies into my kids. I also increased the cinnamon, sub'd dried celery leaf for the parsley, added basil and paprika, and used onion salt for the salt. I skipped the pie pan and layered the whole thing in the skillet. I just used the family recipe for mashed potatoes-- yukon gold spuds cooked in broth, and a bit of cream and cream cheese. I had mashed potatoes in the freezer, so used those. Skip the cheese, it is over the top. Twenty minutes from counter to dinner table. And one table full of happy diners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Very easy and great comfort food. I followed other reveiws and left out the cinnamon. I was worried that the potatoes would be too runny so I didn't use a full cup of milk with I mashed them. We thought the meat had a very nice flavor. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made this for some British friends and they loved it. However, I did the Shepherd pie version using ground lamb instead of beef. Also, added garlic, Worcestershire sauce and brown gravy mix instead of flour. Cooked the carrots and onions the entire time while browning meat. Served with balsamic caramelized carrots. This was excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I am English and this recipe seems to be pretty authentic. However, cinnamon would not be used in an English dish like this. I have noticed a couple of reviewers mention a pie crust and it not being authentic to the recipe. I agree, Cottage Pie does not have a pie crust, but I can see no reference to it in this recipe. As mentioned in another review, Worcestershire Sauce adds valuable flavor to the meat in this dish. Don't add too much tomato paste, if any and just play around with herbs til you get the flavor you like. You don't need to whip the potatoes, just make them as you normally would and spoon them onto the meat - the rougher, the better. I even fluff mine with a fork before adding the cheese, which makes the peaks a little crunchy. This dish is not meant to be complicated, so keep it simple. It's a quick and easy meal to make on a budget. A great comfort food and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was a pretty good dish. I made some changes, omitted the flour, and spices and substituted beef gravy mix for the beef broth. I folded the grated cheese into the whipped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This recipe is a pretty good guide. I put my own spin on it by using just a dash of cinnamon and subbing out the parsley with Rosemary, gives is a great flavor! I also include minced garlic in with the onions and also add corn and green beans when I add the broth to give it extra veggie goodness. I also omit the cheese as it seems to just be overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious!!! I add peas and corn to make it even larger. Plus substitute HP sauce for the small amount of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Great recipe....I made this for the first time after falling in love with a Cottage Pie that I had at an irish pub. This is really very close to that dish, but a little more flavorful if you do follow a few of the tips. Use a little worst. sauce in the beef broth, and skip the tomato paste...just use a little ketchup instead and it's perfect. I loved the cinnamon and didn't find it overwhelming at all. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I was surprised at how good this was. Nervous about the cinnamon but it was great! I did add Worcestershire Sauce, garlic and sprinkled paprika on the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States