Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Incredible Recipe! Due to some missing ingredients I had to make a few changes.. 1. I used 85/15 Ground Turkey instead of Ground Beef. 2. I used cornstarch/water mixture instead of flour. 3. I used a little less beef broth with some tomato ketchup instead of the tomato paste. 4. I added a little of some fresh thyme. 5. I used fresh grated Asiago, which was concealed in the potato color on top, instead of shredded cheddar. 6. I added some garlic powder to the potato mixture. This was delicious, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Family loved this -- I did make some minor changes -- I omitted the cinnamon and in place of the beef broth used water and brown gravy powder and worcestershire sauce, and as other reviewers suggested instead of tomato paste I used ketchup and added peas towards the end of cooking in the skillet. I made the potatoes as I normally would and used low-fat cheese on top. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Didn't change a thing about this recipe and it turned out GREAT! My husband and I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
My husband loved this one-dish dinner. The cinnamon adds an excellent flavor to the beef, much as cloves do for pork. Instead of serving with peas, I put the peas in with the carrots, and used raw maple-smoked cheddar on top. This was really a great, filling meal. Definitely plan on making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My family loved it...I usually make a very plain sheppards pie. This was very well received. I made my standard mashed potatoes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I tweaked this recipe to my own tastes (I hardly ever follow any recipe exactly). I added a little more cinnamon than the recipe calls for and it wasn't overpowering at all. I also added some hot madras curry powder, cumin, garlic powder, worcestershire sauce, 2T extra tom. paste, and red pepper flakes to give it a little kick. Like some have suggested, just make the mashed potatoes the way you like them. It's not necessary to follow the recipe's measurements or methods. I tweaked the mashed potatoes by adding crumbled bacon and cheddar cheese to mine. I doubled the entire recipe and filled two 9x9 deep dish store-bought pie crusts. I didn't realize at the time that the crusts were lightly sweetened, but they actually enhanced the overall character of the dish, giving it a delicately sweet, very savory flavor with a nice kick. While my end product may not be considered "proper" by cottage pie purists, it was definitely fantastic and will become a regular on my dinner table. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison and Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
A good basic starter recipe for a nice easy comfort meal. I added frozen peas, carrots, & corn to the beef mix to sneak more veggies into my kids. I also increased the cinnamon, sub'd dried celery leaf for the parsley, added basil and paprika, and used onion salt for the salt. I skipped the pie pan and layered the whole thing in the skillet. I just used the family recipe for mashed potatoes-- yukon gold spuds cooked in broth, and a bit of cream and cream cheese. I had mashed potatoes in the freezer, so used those. Skip the cheese, it is over the top. Twenty minutes from counter to dinner table. And one table full of happy diners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Very easy and great comfort food. I followed other reveiws and left out the cinnamon. I was worried that the potatoes would be too runny so I didn't use a full cup of milk with I mashed them. We thought the meat had a very nice flavor. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made this for some British friends and they loved it. However, I did the Shepherd pie version using ground lamb instead of beef. Also, added garlic, Worcestershire sauce and brown gravy mix instead of flour. Cooked the carrots and onions the entire time while browning meat. Served with balsamic caramelized carrots. This was excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I am English and this recipe seems to be pretty authentic. However, cinnamon would not be used in an English dish like this. I have noticed a couple of reviewers mention a pie crust and it not being authentic to the recipe. I agree, Cottage Pie does not have a pie crust, but I can see no reference to it in this recipe. As mentioned in another review, Worcestershire Sauce adds valuable flavor to the meat in this dish. Don't add too much tomato paste, if any and just play around with herbs til you get the flavor you like. You don't need to whip the potatoes, just make them as you normally would and spoon them onto the meat - the rougher, the better. I even fluff mine with a fork before adding the cheese, which makes the peaks a little crunchy. This dish is not meant to be complicated, so keep it simple. It's a quick and easy meal to make on a budget. A great comfort food and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States