Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I just joined allrecipes and decided to try the Proper English Cottage Pie. My mother used to make cottage pie often and I always loved it. I made this recipe for my kids because it was close to hers. We all absolutely loved it! It's very important to make sure that most of the liquid is cooked out of the meat mixture before assembly, otherwise you have a mess. Don't skimp on the cheese, it will make the mash stiff enough to keep shape when served. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Made this tonight, but didn't have tomato paste. Added garlic powder and cut to 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and my whole family liked it! Can't wait to try it with all the ingredients:) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SukeyNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
The flavor of the filling was exceptional, IMO. The cinnamon added depth to the flavoring. I like creamier potatoes so I added whipping cream instead of milk. I was amazed at how easy this was to make, as well as how quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mztry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
this came out better than I expected. Everyone liked and my kids rated 4 1/2. made the recipe as stated except used ketchup instead of tomato paste. I also doubled the amount of ketchup to give the meat a little hint of sweetness. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is a lovely adaptable recipe that can incorporate ingredients one may have on hand. Today, I had a large piece of roast beef to use so I tried it in this recipe. I also added frozen peas to add to the veggie content and some cubes of frozen garlic scapes (because we grow garlic)! The suggested spicing was perfect for us - spicing, of course, should be to one's individual taste... With ground beef, this recipe will take me back to holidays in Britain when we had cottage pie in pubs quite a bit! This is a lovely dish and I will be making it again. Like so many good recipes, the results will always be different - depending on what we have... Thanks for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I tried this recipe and served it at a luncheon for 8 today. Very well received and absolutely delicious! I liked the idea that I could prepare it yesterday and bake it today.I added cooked (from frozen) peas to this to add the vegetable quota and served it with pickled beets. Since it was all done a day in advance, all I had to do was pop it in the oven. That way I could enjoy my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was great! I added a can of peas between the meat and potato layers (because I like peas) and doubled the cheese (because I LOVE cheese). I'm not sure why everyone is griping about pie crust. It says to put it in a pie TIN. It says nothing about crust. I just did the whole process in a cast iron skillet, though. Stove to oven, no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
for lower glycemic index use turnip instead of potatoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Millinocket, Maine, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Perhaps I didn't add enough salt and maybe there was too much cinnamon, but I wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I followed this very closely (except where I got lazy with measurements), and it was AWESOME! I know the cinnamon sounds crazy, but it adds a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States