Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
It's a pretty good recipe. But these changes HAVE to be made to make it better: 1) Reduce milk to 1/3 cup. 2) Instead of measuring out the cinammon, just sprinkle it over the meat is more than enough. 3) Sprinkle just a tablespoon of breadcrumbs over the Cheddar cheese for more dept in the texture. Other than that it was good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is the first cottage/shepherd pie my husband didn't add ketchup to! It was yummy. Don't omit the cinnamon. Next time I will grate the carrots as they were a bit underdone. More salt is required than recipe calls for - I added garlic salt. Just keep tasting it til you like it. Add more beef broth if you like a moister one. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I made this will slighly over a pound of ground beef and 4 large russet potatos. I absolutely NEEDED a 9 by 13 inch casserole dish! It would have certainly boiled over in a pie dish or an 8 by 8 dish. This recipe turned out wonderful! I changed the recipe a bit because I was just using ingredients I had on hand. I didn't use carrots, used chicken broth instead of beef, and used 1 tbsp dried parsley instead of fresh. I also used the full amount of milk and would do it that way again, although it would probably be fine with less. I used the full amount of cinnamon, and hardly noticed it. It didn't seem "overpowering" at all. I also added garlic salt to the potatos for more flavor. I'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SylvrFlwr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I did not care for the flavor, all I could taste was the italian seasoning even after I finished the meal. The carrots were raw and I even cooked them longer than recipe called for. The potatoes only needed about 3 Tbsp of milk, not the cup it called for. And I wish I would have put the cheese on the meat and under the potatoes. I won't be cooking this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
this recipe calls for too much milk. i cut the milk back to a half cup. it's also a good idea to let the beef mixture and the potaot mixture cool a bit before combining, because the potaot has a tendency to run if added when piping hot. the cinnamon is a measure of taste - i love it, my husband does not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by powpow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This was very good, but not earth-shaking. I agree with other reviewers on several points: (1) Though cinnamon can add a nice element with red meat, here it comes through too strongly; cut back quite a bit on the amount. (2) Use less milk in the potatoes - just make them however you usually make your mashed potatoes. (3) I used water instead of beef broth and added some worcestershire sauce because the meat mixture seemed to need some extra flavor. Next time I would go a step further and use some garlic and extra seasonings to perk it up. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
We liked this, made recipe to a T. Next time I will cut back on the cinnamon as it was just a little to strong for us and maybe add some garlic, only because we like it in our dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Tried this and I'm sorry...the cinnamon is horrible. Sorry, definitely won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I LOVE this recipe. I have made it quite a few times and will be making it again tonight. I NEVER put it in a pie shell (guess I didnt read the entire recipe ever lol). I just throw it in a cassarole dish and put lots of cheese on top. I also use a bag of frozen mixed vegtables instead of just the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States