Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I loved this recipe!! I did change it a bit...I added 1/2 cup red wine to the broth (and decreased the broth by 1/2 cup-it was delicious! I also added frozen peas to the mix and baked it in a 9x9 pan because it wouldn't have fit in a pie plate. I would also reccommend peeling the potatoes before starting the meat mixture...it would have gone smoother if I would have done that first. Great recipe...I will make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Poor recipe and tastes odd. Nothing like a traditional English Cottage Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliette, London, UK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juliette, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
We made this for a friend who used to live in England and he said it was perfect. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Brilliant recipe. I didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This came out full of flavour. Different to traditional cottage pie, but the added extras, sat well with me. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Amazing recipe---the cinnamon gives this dish an "authentic" taste. After the ground beef and onion was almost cooked through, I added the cinnamon and herbs to the meat and sauted until cooked. This allowed the spices to blend with the meat a little more. Then I added the flour and proceeded as written. Great recipe, will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElCee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Nothing proper about this one. Cinnamon??? My girlfriend made this one for me after I made a proper pie just like moms. I could not eat it. there is nothing proper about over seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This was very good. Everyone ate it up very quickly....the only issue was that hte potatoes came out soggy...but the taste was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
The cinnamon definitely needs to be in there. When we made it you could smell that cinnamon, but when you ate it, it was just yumminess. Depending on how much extra onion/carrots you add, you may need larger than a pie plate, but ours fit perfectly into our nine inch pan. A great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
The kids and the hubby absolutely adore this recipe. I have made it twice now and the leftovers don't last long at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States