Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
My husband was BEGGING for some Cottage Pie and this is now his favorite thing that I make (he actually said that!). The only changes I made to the meat mixture were to use ground Turkey instead of beef (being easy on the wasitline), substitute Thyme, Rosemary, Oregano, and Basil on their own rather than in the form of "Italian seasoning" (1/2 tsp of each and it was the perfect amount), and added 1/2 cup of frozen (or you could use fresh) peas. I used skin-on red potatoes and added a little fresh chopped garlic during the whipping process. Other than that I followed the recipe as written, and it was absolutely divine ;) My British friends were even impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbcampbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
people please read carefully. It says put into a pie plate not into a pie crust. otherwise the other comments and suggestions are worthwhile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Delicious and easy! Changed a few things: I used 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1 1/2lbs of lean ground beef, a splash of worchestire--it was a beautiful blend of spices!!Recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Very nice dish! The cinnamon is a nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
delicious! i adjusted this slightly based on other reviewers comments but i think it's an excellent recipe. i increased the beef to 1.5 lbs, reduced the cinnamon, doubled the "italian seasoning", subbed ketchup for tomato paste, threw in some worchestershire, and made the potatoes like i would make basic mashed. perfect for a cold wintry night - my family loved it!! thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Very hearty. Good for a cold night, and easy to assemble/make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
ONLY USE 1/4 OF THE CINNAMON.. OTHERWISE IT ROCKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needs garlic!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I thought the Italian seasoning was overpowering and all my husband could taste was the cinnamon. One cup of milk is WAY too much for the potatoes. I had hoped for a hearty Sunday dinner, instead we got a big dissapointment and tons of leftovers that no one will want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Good Basic recipe. I added my own touches - decreased the cinnamon, added peas and substituted 1/4 of the beef broth with 1/4 cup of Guiness. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Delicious! So many ground beef casseroles are blah to me. I wasn't sure about how the cinnamon would be but it added a really nice dimension, while the stock is key for a nice rich flavor. I added a splash of Worchestershire to boot, and tripled the recipe in order to freeze two pie plates for later use. My picky preschoolers gobbled it up and I thought it was really yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States