Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Excellent, though I use more carrots and double the potatoes (it may be that the potatoes I can buy are small). I also double the cinnamon, and have been known to put green peas in it. An excellent, simple and hardy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I have very successfully made a vegetarian version of this recipe using veggie crumbles and vegetable broth for the beef and beef broth. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Delish! I made it without the parsley, and instead of the 3 carrots I used 3/4 bag of frozen diced carrots with peas. I also made it in smaller individual casserole dishes so there wasn't as large a pile of potatoes on top and we had our own container - kept it nice and hot all the way through. I highly recommend this - and definitely use sharp cheddar cheese on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Really very good. I was impressed with the gravy it made. I would probably go a little lighter on the Italian seasoning, but that is a personal preference. We enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was so good! I didn't use the cinnamon and like others used Ketchup instead of tomato paste. My kids devoured it and asked that I make it again next week. My only suggestion is to make a double batch because mine was gone the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Being from Australia, cottage pie is a favourite when it comes to comfort food for the family. Overall, this recipe is pretty close to the orignial. Defeinitely omit the cinnamon. Not sure why you would want to add cinnamon to a traditional cottage pie. Like a lot of other reviewers, i added worsteshire sauce, approx 2 teaspoons, as well as 1/2 cup of peas. I'd also recommend cutting back on the cheese. Just enough to brown on top of the mashed potato is sufficient. Finally, stick to lean ground beef...you can cut back on the the oily, greasy film which can overpower the taste of all other ingredients...as well as the waistline
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEAMERICAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I have family in England, and this reminds me of their Cottage pie! I have made this dozens of times now. I often buy the microwaveable mashed potatoes to save time. I also often add parsnips, but you can really add ANY veg you have on hand. The only real mod I've made is to use just a PINCH of cinnamon, or you can go without it. I also make a nice beef gravy to pour over it. This is a favorite I come back to over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Brilliant! I prepared this for my British husband with a few alterations, and he *really* enjoyed it! I reduced the cinnamon to 1/4 tsp, and next time I'll use even less. I also used less cheese since we're trying to lighten things up around here. And, because we didn't have ground beef, I used ground Bison - let me tell you... it was AMAZING! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Angus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This recipe was wonderful! My husand and I are trying to cook more and eat out less We loved it. We are new to cooking and this was very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCCASTRO

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
It says to use a pie PLATE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lov_2_cook&eat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States