Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made this for some British friends and they loved it. However, I did the Shepherd pie version using ground lamb instead of beef. Also, added garlic, Worcestershire sauce and brown gravy mix instead of flour. Cooked the carrots and onions the entire time while browning meat. Served with balsamic caramelized carrots. This was excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I am English and this recipe seems to be pretty authentic. However, cinnamon would not be used in an English dish like this. I have noticed a couple of reviewers mention a pie crust and it not being authentic to the recipe. I agree, Cottage Pie does not have a pie crust, but I can see no reference to it in this recipe. As mentioned in another review, Worcestershire Sauce adds valuable flavor to the meat in this dish. Don't add too much tomato paste, if any and just play around with herbs til you get the flavor you like. You don't need to whip the potatoes, just make them as you normally would and spoon them onto the meat - the rougher, the better. I even fluff mine with a fork before adding the cheese, which makes the peaks a little crunchy. This dish is not meant to be complicated, so keep it simple. It's a quick and easy meal to make on a budget. A great comfort food and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was a pretty good dish. I made some changes, omitted the flour, and spices and substituted beef gravy mix for the beef broth. I folded the grated cheese into the whipped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This recipe is a pretty good guide. I put my own spin on it by using just a dash of cinnamon and subbing out the parsley with Rosemary, gives is a great flavor! I also include minced garlic in with the onions and also add corn and green beans when I add the broth to give it extra veggie goodness. I also omit the cheese as it seems to just be overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious!!! I add peas and corn to make it even larger. Plus substitute HP sauce for the small amount of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel McLead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Great recipe....I made this for the first time after falling in love with a Cottage Pie that I had at an irish pub. This is really very close to that dish, but a little more flavorful if you do follow a few of the tips. Use a little worst. sauce in the beef broth, and skip the tomato paste...just use a little ketchup instead and it's perfect. I loved the cinnamon and didn't find it overwhelming at all. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I was surprised at how good this was. Nervous about the cinnamon but it was great! I did add Worcestershire Sauce, garlic and sprinkled paprika on the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
THIS WAS great!!!!! But I am wondering where some reviewers are getting that you use pie crust?? No where do I see pie crust mentioned. Just wonderin....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
It was pretty good. I made it easy by using instant potatoes, always looking for a way to cut down on time spent in the kitchen. You will need to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigerindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Came out too soupy :/ Maybe I didn't let it bake long enough... but I was expecting something a little different than what I received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States