Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
THIS WAS great!!!!! But I am wondering where some reviewers are getting that you use pie crust?? No where do I see pie crust mentioned. Just wonderin....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
It was pretty good. I made it easy by using instant potatoes, always looking for a way to cut down on time spent in the kitchen. You will need to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigerindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Came out too soupy :/ Maybe I didn't let it bake long enough... but I was expecting something a little different than what I received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Excellent for St. Patrick's Day! I made a larger serving - more than doubled it - and put it in a 9x13 pan. Added minced garlic to the beef and a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce to the broth. Used ketchup in lieu of tomato paste. Didn't have Italian seasoning so added few pinches of dried rosemary and thyme to the broth and let it sit a bit to release the flavor. I added frozen peas and carrots to the beef [after cooking] instead of dicing carrots. I paid no attention to the mashed potato instructions - just made a big batch of my regular mashed potato's and spread them on top of the beef mixture. Good thing I made a huge batch as my 19 yr. old son had THREE big servings. Yep, it was a hit and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
My husband loves this pie! I don't think I change anything about it. Soooooo yummy and fulfilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Excellent, though I use more carrots and double the potatoes (it may be that the potatoes I can buy are small). I also double the cinnamon, and have been known to put green peas in it. An excellent, simple and hardy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I have very successfully made a vegetarian version of this recipe using veggie crumbles and vegetable broth for the beef and beef broth. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Delish! I made it without the parsley, and instead of the 3 carrots I used 3/4 bag of frozen diced carrots with peas. I also made it in smaller individual casserole dishes so there wasn't as large a pile of potatoes on top and we had our own container - kept it nice and hot all the way through. I highly recommend this - and definitely use sharp cheddar cheese on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Really very good. I was impressed with the gravy it made. I would probably go a little lighter on the Italian seasoning, but that is a personal preference. We enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was so good! I didn't use the cinnamon and like others used Ketchup instead of tomato paste. My kids devoured it and asked that I make it again next week. My only suggestion is to make a double batch because mine was gone the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States