Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Delicious made as described!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
As written this recipe would not work for me because I did as other reviewers and had a decent 'pie'. Still something is missing for flavor and the meat came out tough. Well, one day I had left over meatloaf. I crumbled it up, did the recipe--with the changes suggested-- all over again and it was fabulous. The meat was tender and held together when I cut into the flavorful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
A tasty, hearty meal. I made as directed and it came out just right. Just like Granny used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This is an EXCELLENT recipe; and, I didn't change a thing. I made this for my fella (who is English)...and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe. I think it could do with a touch of sweetness (peas or corn), but otherwise excellent. The herbs really brought out the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Excellent recipe! I noticed people said the potatoes were runny? I add very little milk to my potatoes at all, ever. This recipe I just whipped the potatoes with a hand mixer, and added the butter, no milk. I also substituted corn starch for the flour for my own dietary need. The end result was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Incredible Recipe! Due to some missing ingredients I had to make a few changes.. 1. I used 85/15 Ground Turkey instead of Ground Beef. 2. I used cornstarch/water mixture instead of flour. 3. I used a little less beef broth with some tomato ketchup instead of the tomato paste. 4. I added a little of some fresh thyme. 5. I used fresh grated Asiago, which was concealed in the potato color on top, instead of shredded cheddar. 6. I added some garlic powder to the potato mixture. This was delicious, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Family loved this -- I did make some minor changes -- I omitted the cinnamon and in place of the beef broth used water and brown gravy powder and worcestershire sauce, and as other reviewers suggested instead of tomato paste I used ketchup and added peas towards the end of cooking in the skillet. I made the potatoes as I normally would and used low-fat cheese on top. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Didn't change a thing about this recipe and it turned out GREAT! My husband and I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
My husband loved this one-dish dinner. The cinnamon adds an excellent flavor to the beef, much as cloves do for pork. Instead of serving with peas, I put the peas in with the carrots, and used raw maple-smoked cheddar on top. This was really a great, filling meal. Definitely plan on making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States