Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
My mother used to make this (sans cinnamon), it was a childhood favorite of mine. Now I think it has become a favorite of my husband, he had two huge helpings, then grazed on it all evening. I added crimini mushrooms sauteed in butter/garlic w/Madeira, which I thought was a waste, they were almost lost in the meat. Overall I found it to be a pleasant dish but a bit boring. Next time I will add some heat, peppers, fresh herbs & spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
It was definitely different to the way my mother and grandmother used to make it, but I have to say that I really enjoyed it - and so did the family! I didn't have any tomato paste so used four large fresh plum tomatoes instead, and omitted the parsley as I likewise had none. The cinnamon added a deliciously different note to the flavour. I cooked up two pounds of ground beef, and doubled up on the other ingredients as a result. I figured that that was more enough to feed five adults and have leftovers to freeze or eat for lunch during the week - but there are no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
No flour, brown gravy, catsup instead of tomato paste, peas in meat & potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
A very good recipe, I made a few modifications (first is the removal of the cinnamon, it doesn't belong in this recipe), I also doubled it and made it in a 13x9 pan. I also added some garlic powder (both to the meat mixture as well as to the mashed potatoes) and added 8 ounces of sliced mushrooms. It was well received by everyone...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Yummy. A good ratio of potato to meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I just joined allrecipes and decided to try the Proper English Cottage Pie. My mother used to make cottage pie often and I always loved it. I made this recipe for my kids because it was close to hers. We all absolutely loved it! It's very important to make sure that most of the liquid is cooked out of the meat mixture before assembly, otherwise you have a mess. Don't skimp on the cheese, it will make the mash stiff enough to keep shape when served. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Made this tonight, but didn't have tomato paste. Added garlic powder and cut to 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and my whole family liked it! Can't wait to try it with all the ingredients:) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SukeyNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
The flavor of the filling was exceptional, IMO. The cinnamon added depth to the flavoring. I like creamier potatoes so I added whipping cream instead of milk. I was amazed at how easy this was to make, as well as how quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mztry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
this came out better than I expected. Everyone liked and my kids rated 4 1/2. made the recipe as stated except used ketchup instead of tomato paste. I also doubled the amount of ketchup to give the meat a little hint of sweetness. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is a lovely adaptable recipe that can incorporate ingredients one may have on hand. Today, I had a large piece of roast beef to use so I tried it in this recipe. I also added frozen peas to add to the veggie content and some cubes of frozen garlic scapes (because we grow garlic)! The suggested spicing was perfect for us - spicing, of course, should be to one's individual taste... With ground beef, this recipe will take me back to holidays in Britain when we had cottage pie in pubs quite a bit! This is a lovely dish and I will be making it again. Like so many good recipes, the results will always be different - depending on what we have... Thanks for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States