Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I would give this 3.5 stars, but my husband gives it 3. The cinnamon was very prominent in this dish. After reading the reviews, I cut the cinnamon by a tiny bit. I wanted to try it with the cinnamon because I know there is cinnamon in Cincinnati chili, and we love that meal! I would like to try this again, but with maybe only 1/8 tsp cinnamon or none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I've made a good many "Shepherds Pie" type recipes (I love 'em), to mixed reviews from the "Boss". This recipe rated a rave review from family and friends. Made this as written and don't plan too much tweaking in the future. So rich and "comforting". A salad and a good "Red" completes the meal. Really easy, and fun, and delicious! Thanks Caroline, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~GypsyDoll~
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Was great...perfect food to make on a cold day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~GypsyDoll~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Tasty pie! My 9 inch pie pan was a little small, so there was a bit of over flow. Luckily, a cookie sheet caught most of the mess. I cut in half the amount of butter, and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Tweaked slightly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ro0ney
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Great tasting and true comfort food at its next! I omitted the cinnamon and added Old Bay Seasoning for our family's taste preferences. Great Old World recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kikikim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Easy and tasted great, thank you! Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I tried this last night, made some changes though. My mince meat was a mix of pork and beef. I switched the Italian dressing to some garlic and dried oregano and then added Worcester sauce. Finally I added frozen peas and sweet corn to the mix. The result was amazing, couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
So good! I mixed the peas in with the meat before adding the mashed potatoes and used ketchup since I was out of tomato paste. Hands down the best cottage pie recipe I've tried. Even my picky eater loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ollianna786

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
used cinnamon-liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States