Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
this is good but I gave it 4 stars because the cinnamon is a bit too strong, the next time I make this it will be with less cinnamon and maybe some garlic sauted with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
It's a pretty good recipe. But these changes HAVE to be made to make it better: 1) Reduce milk to 1/3 cup. 2) Instead of measuring out the cinammon, just sprinkle it over the meat is more than enough. 3) Sprinkle just a tablespoon of breadcrumbs over the Cheddar cheese for more dept in the texture. Other than that it was good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is the first cottage/shepherd pie my husband didn't add ketchup to! It was yummy. Don't omit the cinnamon. Next time I will grate the carrots as they were a bit underdone. More salt is required than recipe calls for - I added garlic salt. Just keep tasting it til you like it. Add more beef broth if you like a moister one. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I made this will slighly over a pound of ground beef and 4 large russet potatos. I absolutely NEEDED a 9 by 13 inch casserole dish! It would have certainly boiled over in a pie dish or an 8 by 8 dish. This recipe turned out wonderful! I changed the recipe a bit because I was just using ingredients I had on hand. I didn't use carrots, used chicken broth instead of beef, and used 1 tbsp dried parsley instead of fresh. I also used the full amount of milk and would do it that way again, although it would probably be fine with less. I used the full amount of cinnamon, and hardly noticed it. It didn't seem "overpowering" at all. I also added garlic salt to the potatos for more flavor. I'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SylvrFlwr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I did not care for the flavor, all I could taste was the italian seasoning even after I finished the meal. The carrots were raw and I even cooked them longer than recipe called for. The potatoes only needed about 3 Tbsp of milk, not the cup it called for. And I wish I would have put the cheese on the meat and under the potatoes. I won't be cooking this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
this recipe calls for too much milk. i cut the milk back to a half cup. it's also a good idea to let the beef mixture and the potaot mixture cool a bit before combining, because the potaot has a tendency to run if added when piping hot. the cinnamon is a measure of taste - i love it, my husband does not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by powpow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This was very good, but not earth-shaking. I agree with other reviewers on several points: (1) Though cinnamon can add a nice element with red meat, here it comes through too strongly; cut back quite a bit on the amount. (2) Use less milk in the potatoes - just make them however you usually make your mashed potatoes. (3) I used water instead of beef broth and added some worcestershire sauce because the meat mixture seemed to need some extra flavor. Next time I would go a step further and use some garlic and extra seasonings to perk it up. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
We liked this, made recipe to a T. Next time I will cut back on the cinnamon as it was just a little to strong for us and maybe add some garlic, only because we like it in our dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Tried this and I'm sorry...the cinnamon is horrible. Sorry, definitely won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States