Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I LOVE this recipe. I have made it quite a few times and will be making it again tonight. I NEVER put it in a pie shell (guess I didnt read the entire recipe ever lol). I just throw it in a cassarole dish and put lots of cheese on top. I also use a bag of frozen mixed vegtables instead of just the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
My family enjoyed this recipe and it is definitely a keeper, with a few revisions. The cinnamon need scaled back a bit, probably in half. Secondly, I thought 1 cup of milk was way too much, so I only dumped in 3/4 c. and right away regretted it. I would recommend eye balling the milk starting with 1/4 c. My potatoes were rather runny but we went with it and it turned out okay. The finally issue I had was either needing to use less liquid or cook the meat longer as that was rather runny also. Unfortunately the extra liquid over flowed and filled my kitchen with smoke. Good recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
The pie was very good. My husband enjoys English dishes and I expected something like the "shepherd's pie" that was served in the school cafeteria many years ago. For a hamburger meal, it had a lovely, complex flavor. I followed the recipe except for using a pie crust, which does not seem authentic. I doubled the meat portion of the recipe and froze it in the pie plate to be topped with mashed potatoes later for a busy night meal. Also, I take a can of tomato paste and empty it into a zip baggy for freezing, then just break off what is needed (be sure to flatten paste before freezing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I put this in my recipe box 3 years ago and finally made it two weeks ago. LOVED it. Loved it loved it! Big hit with my "men" I did substitute ketchup for the tomato paste, because I didn't want to open a whole can for that, and it was great. Also I threw in a can of corn (maybe not traditional? But good!) This one is a keeper. I am considering putting extras in freezer bags, and then just tossing it in a pie plate and throwing on the fresh potatos. Oh, and I didn't use a pie crust either? I didn't think that was the right way to do it. I don't think it was necessary. - Update on 01/17/12 I STILL make this regularly. One of my "go to's"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Such an easy and filling meal! I used tomato soup once because I didn't have tomato paste on hand and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNERIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
My friends all love this recipe! I cooked it for my family and decided to save some for a few friends. They liked it so much, I had to make a few more batches for them. They've asked for it on their birthdays as a gift, so glad I didn't have to shop anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
this recipe was fantastic i did adapt it a bit but it was delisious my mum who is a professinal chef said it was fantastic and ate as much as she could. i would recommend this recipe to anyone if you have a big family then it is a great and easy meal to feed everyone. i would like to say thank you very much for making this recipe avalialbe. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
We all liked this one a lot. I usually make it with creamed corn so the carrots were a change for us. Thanks for the post!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This recipe gave me the nerve to make a dish I would otherwize only order in a restaurant. I simmered in a bovril, water, white wine mix, which seemed key to turning the beef into expected pie texture. Used ketchup rather than open a tin of tomato paste. Simmering also cooked the veggies. I added my fav spices of worcheshire, garlic, seasoning salt and marjoram. When serving, I topped with Knorr's brown gravy. Husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I loved this recipe! I exercised a little artistic freedom, but basically followed the recipe as it was. I did cut the cinnamon in half, just because I was nervous about it, having read the other reviews. I added some extra seasonings, including garlic and Greek seasoning, rather than just salt and pepper, and added peas. It was very flavorful. Texture was great, just had to make sure to simmer it down as instructed. I did not use a pie crust, but it would probably be just as good with one. I also used my own mashed potato recipe. My husband loved it, 12-yr-old son liked it, 6-yr-old daughter thought it was "different, but good", and my 2-yr-old daughter inhaled every morsel. I will make this again and try different variations to find one that everyone in my house can really enjoy. (Not an easy task!) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Minerva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States