Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
We made this for a friend who used to live in England and he said it was perfect. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Brilliant recipe. I didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This came out full of flavour. Different to traditional cottage pie, but the added extras, sat well with me. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Amazing recipe---the cinnamon gives this dish an "authentic" taste. After the ground beef and onion was almost cooked through, I added the cinnamon and herbs to the meat and sauted until cooked. This allowed the spices to blend with the meat a little more. Then I added the flour and proceeded as written. Great recipe, will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElCee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Nothing proper about this one. Cinnamon??? My girlfriend made this one for me after I made a proper pie just like moms. I could not eat it. there is nothing proper about over seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This was very good. Everyone ate it up very quickly....the only issue was that hte potatoes came out soggy...but the taste was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
The cinnamon definitely needs to be in there. When we made it you could smell that cinnamon, but when you ate it, it was just yumminess. Depending on how much extra onion/carrots you add, you may need larger than a pie plate, but ours fit perfectly into our nine inch pan. A great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
The kids and the hubby absolutely adore this recipe. I have made it twice now and the leftovers don't last long at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Family loved this. Leftovers are really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This is like a shepherd's pie, though I thought it was a little better. As recommended by others, I substituted ketchup for the tomato paste, added 1 TBLS. of Worch. sauce, decreased the milk to half a cup and decrease the cinnamon to a quarter tsp. I also added corn on top of the meat and flavored the meat with a few TBLS. of minced garlic. I substituted one of the potatoes for a parsnip..you couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States