Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I make this every year for our St Patty's Day feast. I do not add the cinnamon, use ketchup instead of tomato paste and use a box of frozen peas and carrots. After I put on the mashed potatoes, I sprinkle with cheddar cheese. My family really enjoys this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is awesome! My husband loved it and even my too picky 5-year-old daughter ate it! Definitely NO leftover even if I doubled the recipe! However, I made some twists here and there (as I always do with other recipes). Added some garlic, celery, and diced potatoes. Then also added basil,oregano, parsley and a little more of the italian seasoning. I used a spaghetti Tomato sauce with Basil (leftover) instead of opening a new can of tomato paste. For the mashed potato, I let the water boiled and dissolved a cube of beef broth, then added the potatoes. It definitely gave some taste. Thank you so much! Will make this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
My boyfriend and I made this with his mom for a group of friends that we do dinner with every Sunday, we all take turns but this is one of the best recipes we've used. This last time we made it I added a pie crust and more seasoning to the meat. We also can't use cinnamon bc of an allergy so we substituted it with nutmeg. AMAZING flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie4217

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Really good recipe with changes. I've substituted leftover cubed turkey/chicken for the beef. Omit cinnamon, parsley ...like others have said.Instead I've used 1 to 1.5 cups of tomato/spaghetti sauce and a dash of worcester sauce and lessened the beef broth to 1 cup for a thicker sauce without using the flour. Other times I've used leftover gravy for all/part of the sauce. Be sure to put a hole in the middle of the mashed potatoes so sauce/gravy won't spill over sides of dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I left out the cinnamon and the cheese and pie crust as these weren't to our taste. I added a handful of chopped mushrooms and a small can of garden peas into the mix. I also added a dash of worcestershire sauce and lots of salt & pepper. The great thing about this recipe is that you can chop and change the ingredients and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I followed the advice of previous reviewers...left out the cinnamon, and substituted ketchup for tomato paste. The result was fantastic!!!! Everyone (even the picky eaters) loved this dish...perfect for a cozy night in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UKJESSI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
added corn and a can of diced tomatoes for part of the liquid... it was comfort in my mouth :) yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I loved this recipe!! I did change it a bit...I added 1/2 cup red wine to the broth (and decreased the broth by 1/2 cup-it was delicious! I also added frozen peas to the mix and baked it in a 9x9 pan because it wouldn't have fit in a pie plate. I would also reccommend peeling the potatoes before starting the meat mixture...it would have gone smoother if I would have done that first. Great recipe...I will make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Poor recipe and tastes odd. Nothing like a traditional English Cottage Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliette, London, UK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juliette, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
We made this for a friend who used to live in England and he said it was perfect. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States