Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I thought the Italian seasoning was overpowering and all my husband could taste was the cinnamon. One cup of milk is WAY too much for the potatoes. I had hoped for a hearty Sunday dinner, instead we got a big dissapointment and tons of leftovers that no one will want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Good Basic recipe. I added my own touches - decreased the cinnamon, added peas and substituted 1/4 of the beef broth with 1/4 cup of Guiness. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Delicious! So many ground beef casseroles are blah to me. I wasn't sure about how the cinnamon would be but it added a really nice dimension, while the stock is key for a nice rich flavor. I added a splash of Worchestershire to boot, and tripled the recipe in order to freeze two pie plates for later use. My picky preschoolers gobbled it up and I thought it was really yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I really liked this and I personally felt it needed more spice... but my husband loved it (and he is a Brit with aversion to black pepper). I used Bisto instead of beef broth - which thickened it perfectly and they freeze really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenMacAnnie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was just ok. It's certainly not an "authentic" tasting Cottage Pie, but it was a flavorful meal, once I tweaked it a little. Worcestershire sauce was a must and I will omit the cinnamon next time. Nutmeg would be more authentic anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bel920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I added just a touch of thyme to the beef while simmering, but otherwise I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
My picky English husband enjoys this. I've made it many times and sometimes make substitutions, like adding frozen peas & carrots mix instead of the fresh carrots. This is a meal my whole family enjoys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
first time making something like this and it was great! THE only changes I made were to add green beans. Also I use a food mill for the potatoes and it makes such a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very good. I used ketchup and the full amount of cinnamon, and it was a little too sweet and "cinnamony." The cup of milk made the potatoes nice and smooth. Before baking I topped the pie with some melted butter and shaved parmesan, like they do at the Chip Shop in Brooklyn. Will make again (with some alterations)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Awesome recipe! I didn't use enough potatoes, but will the next time. Make sure that the four potatoes you use are big, if not, use like six. My 12 year old son woke up at midnight to get some water and couldn't resist the smell of this dish, and ate the leftovers I was looking foreward to for my lunch. MOST DEFINATELY A REDO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States