Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by singapore
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Very good recipe! I used 1 ½ lbs of ground beef and 5 large potatoes for 4 people and it was almost the perfect amount. Sautéed garlic and onions before adding the beef and added some Lawry's Garlic Salt along with Celery salt and the Worcestershire sauce and skipped the cinnamon and oregano to keep the flavor more traditional. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I would give this 3.5 stars, but my husband gives it 3. The cinnamon was very prominent in this dish. After reading the reviews, I cut the cinnamon by a tiny bit. I wanted to try it with the cinnamon because I know there is cinnamon in Cincinnati chili, and we love that meal! I would like to try this again, but with maybe only 1/8 tsp cinnamon or none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I've made a good many "Shepherds Pie" type recipes (I love 'em), to mixed reviews from the "Boss". This recipe rated a rave review from family and friends. Made this as written and don't plan too much tweaking in the future. So rich and "comforting". A salad and a good "Red" completes the meal. Really easy, and fun, and delicious! Thanks Caroline, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~GypsyDoll~
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Was great...perfect food to make on a cold day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~GypsyDoll~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Tasty pie! My 9 inch pie pan was a little small, so there was a bit of over flow. Luckily, a cookie sheet caught most of the mess. I cut in half the amount of butter, and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Tweaked slightly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ro0ney
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Great tasting and true comfort food at its next! I omitted the cinnamon and added Old Bay Seasoning for our family's taste preferences. Great Old World recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kikikim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Easy and tasted great, thank you! Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I tried this last night, made some changes though. My mince meat was a mix of pork and beef. I switched the Italian dressing to some garlic and dried oregano and then added Worcester sauce. Finally I added frozen peas and sweet corn to the mix. The result was amazing, couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
So good! I mixed the peas in with the meat before adding the mashed potatoes and used ketchup since I was out of tomato paste. Hands down the best cottage pie recipe I've tried. Even my picky eater loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ollianna786

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States