Pro Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
THE BEST!!!! I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coco
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was excellent. I always wanted to make this and I really loved it. It was different to work with, you can put it in between layers or use as a rich icing. It left such a nice shine on the cakes. I had enough to cover a 3 layer cake and a small heart cake. It had a flavor that was divine. Everyone was very impressed with this cake already requesting it for special occasions. I wanted to make something very special for my nephews 16th birthday. I made a 3 layer cake, 2 layers were a yellow butter cake and the middle layer was chocolate. I put a vanilla butter cream between 2 layers and a chocolate butter cream between the other 2 layers. Covered the entire cake with the ganache then made a whipped cream for the top, sprinkled it with chocolate shavings and ground almonds. I believe it was my best work thus far. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
My favorite chocolate frosting recipe! I don't whip it, just melt everything together until smooth and cool in the fridge overnight to thicken it. I always bring extra to parties with strawberries for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PATRINCIA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Ganache recipes can vary greatly in chocolate to cream ratios - this version falls somewhere in the middle and is great! I like to simplify the process by chopping the chips in my food processor until they resemble fine crumbs. Then I heat the cream in a heavy bottomed saucepan until it just starts to bubble around the edges, pour the hot cream down the feed tube of the food processor, add the vanilla and give it a whirl... in seconds you have wonderful ganache. I should mention that chocolate chips contain stabilizers that allow them to keep their shape while they are warm, and those stabilizers don't melt down smoothly like chocolate does, so for a smoother finished product, I strain the warm ganache through a fine mesh strainer (this is not a necessary step, but will give more professional results). Use this ganache warm as a pourable glaze, let it cool to room temp (over night) and use like a standard frosting, or chill until firm and whip with a heavy stand mixer until it's lighter in color and spreadable. You can even use this ganache to make authentic chocolate truffles - just roll the chilled ganache (unwhipped) into balls and coat with cocoa powder, chopped nuts, or whatever. By the way, I used this recipe to cover a chocolate wedding cake and it turned out wonderfully! One more hint: if you use this ganache to "frost" a cake, but be sure to bring the cake to room temperature before cutting (using a hot knife). You'll love this extremely versatile and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
384 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I dripped this over the top of a white frosting, it looked beautiful I almost replicated my wedding cake. The taste was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I was asked to make a 6" Hostess cupcake replica and I used this as the frosting and I got so many compliments and everyone just loved it! I let the mixture cool just enough so it would cover smoothly but not drip too much. for the spare cupcakes I had, I dipped the tops in the ganache. The cake and cupcakes really did look professional and they were really shiny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Oh this is just fabulous. Be sure to blend it thoroughly and ideally, let it chill overnight before using it whether you choose to use it as is or whip it up. I did not whip this up but I can imagine how light and delicious it would be. Once blended it blends into a watery consistency. After chilling it's smooth like pudding but not as stiff and thick as some frostings can be. It smoothes out as you apply it. I used this with the Crazy Chocolate Cake on this site for my daughter's 7th birthday and it was just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
My 12 yr. old daughter made this for my birthday (used it for frosting on the Chocolate Lovers Favorite Cake, from this site) and it was wonderful! It was perfect on this cake and we will definitely make this again!! Thanks for the recipe!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KennBraesMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Forks Afb, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I made this recipe the first time and felt it wasn't quite the flavor I was happy with. Then I made it again did half semi-sweet chocolate and have milk chocolate and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAFOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This recipe worked very well for me. I did only a half batch, because I was just pouring it on a small oatmeal cake. I used a little different tecnique then this recipe recomended. I put the whipping cream and vanilla in a sauce pan over med heat. I then added my choc. and just stirred it untill it was all melted. Brought it to a slight boil over med/high heat, and then poured it directly over my cake, and sprinkled it with flaked coconut. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States