Pro Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Simple and delicious: thanks so much to the submitter and all of the experienced reviewers who give us ganache novices some great ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
One of my favourite things about this recipe is that it's so easy to scale it. I quarter it and get a perfect amount for one 8 or 9 inch cake. I also use half milk chocolate melts and half good quality non-baking chocolate, usually Lindt 70% cocoa chocolate. This is a delicious and versatile recipe that I use all the time. Can't recommend it highly enough! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This was excellent! I used it in my opera bars (also found on this site "opera") for my friend's birthday- she loves french pastries. It went so well I've been asked to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
A food processor is not necessary for this icing. Once the hot cream sits on the chocolate for a couple of minutes it mixes right up. I poured this over eclair cake and it was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cyle
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Yummy yum yum! Made about 3/4 of this and used it as a frosting on a 3-layer yellow cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This ganache was way too runny! I had to wait forever for it to cool before I could use it. Next time I'll try 1/2 the cream that it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This recipe was extremely easy to make & it looks great on my cake! It looks like a "Pro" made my cake. Very good flavor also! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
A wonderful easy recipe that makes a killer ganache! I have made ganache before but never whipped it. What a difference in texture! After cooling just a bit, it was a lovely consistancy to spread on our layer cake that we had sandwhiched together with orange marmalade. The leftover ganache went into the refrigerator and I must admit that we have been dipping into the bowl with spoons all day long. The most delightful truffles could be made out of this stuff! Used Ghiradelli chocolate chips, heavy cream (versus whipping cream) and Mexican Vanilla and gosh! This is a recipe any chocaholic would kill for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I cooked this a day ahead of time and put it in the fridge overnight. To get the ganache to a pourable state, I let it get to room temperature then put the glass bowl I had it in over a pot of simmering water to 're-melt' it. It was perfect. I poured it over a layered ice cream cake I made for a birthday and they were very impressed. Delish! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This recipe was simple, and it looked & tasted fabulous! I made an extremely moist layered yellow cake and used an almond custard filling from this site. I then frosted the cake with a rich chocolate frosting (also from this site). The final touch was the ganache which I poured over the entire cake. My guests couldn't believe that I didn't buy such an impressive cake! I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States