Pro Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by sugarbean
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I use this recipe as part of my cake business. It is wonderful, I made changes to it but the original recipe was so good I went back to it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is very nice - a little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Do not use Semi-Sweet Chocolate chips for this. It was sooooo bitter. It tasted horrible. I am going to try it again with milk chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
i was disappointed in this ganache. it tasted good but i was hoping for the kind of ganache that thickens to the point you can make truffles out of it or get to a frosting consistency to spread on a cake....I realized after making it that it contains too much whipping cream to thicken like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
You can't go wrong with this recipe especially if you use good quality melting chocolate wafers instead of chips (chips are harder to melt!). I had smooth results without using the mixer. Also I used espresso powder instead of vanilla to bring out that great chocolate flavor. One more note, don't even bother trying to use this without refrigerating, it will just be annoying to work with. Let it sit in the refrigerator for at least an hour before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This a very quick delicious ganache. It's not as bitter as the other I tried from this site and worked perfectly for my cake. I used it to top the cake and to fill the layers. I just made a frosting dam around the edge and poured in the ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This gets 5 stars for taste, but mine never set up and remained very runny. I had put it on top of brownies and was unable to cut them ahead of eating because the ganache would have run off. This was disappointing since I was planning to give them to a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Normally I insist on using a good quality chocolate for ganache but today I just threw a doctored up cake mix together quickly and thought this chocolate chip version would be "good enough." To my surprise, it was better than just "good enough" and I was pleased to glaze my cake with it. (And I even forgot to add the vanilla!) I chilled it just long enough to make it of thick pouring consistency so that it adhered to the cake nicely without most of it running off. I had quite a bit left over, so I just refrigerated it for another time. Maybe I'll melt it again and use it as a glaze for cupcakes, or a fudgy topping for cheesecake. Or maybe I'll let it come to room temperature and whip the heck out of it for a fluffier frosting. Or maybe I'll heat it up and pour it over ice cream, or stir some into hot milk, or....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I made this recipe and chilled it, and then whipped it to frost the Black Magic Cake on this site. It whipped beautifully and made a really flexible frosting that filled in holes and smoothed nicely. My first time using ganache!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This stuff is awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoxie, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States