Primo Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was really delicious. Only sub I made was lean ground pork for the spicy sausage. I may have added a few more mushrooms... yum I did add some water to it.. very thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
added a few extra ingredients and took some out to suit my flavor more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilley75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pequot Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Way too spicy for me. It was a nice change up from normal spaghetti. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Curtis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Anytime you are adding tomatoes to a sauce, be sure and check for their sweetness. Some tomatoes have more sweetness and others are more bitter. Sugar is normally added to counteract the bitterness that tomatoes sometimes have. So, again, depending on the sweetness of your canned or fresh tomatoes is how you should add the sugar, and also to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This reminded me of ketchup with sausage in it... very thick and too sweet for us. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummySmells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Great Sauce. I only added red wine didn't have any white on hand, added extra garlic like another suggeated. I left out the rosemary (allergy) let it simmer or about an hour and half. My 5yo loved it ate 3 helpings even my hubby who is not a big pasta fan enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amysaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
We loved this recipe , my husband has been looking for a sauce that is like Mom's. Sweet and a little spicy , this one nailed ! We revised a little, Ground Beef for Italian Sausage and no wine . Still Awesome !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
OMG, this is fabulous--just like my Sicilian step-grandpa used to make. All my life I've been looking for a recipe that lives up to his sauce--and this is it! I used Newman's organic marinara instead of the tomatoes/paste, and more red (& green) peppers. Now THIS tastes authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I didn't have enough red wine for my normal sauce, so I used this as a base to make a different sauce. Very good. It felt like it was missing something, so I added a pinch of cinnamon and some sugar. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Too Sweet,too thick, and too many different flavor combinations going on. Bought a lot of extra spices and wines that I wouldn't normally buy just to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States