Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
USED THIS RECIPE LAST NIGHT FOR A BIRTHDAY DINNER. HAD TO TURN OVEN BACK ON BECAUSE I DIDN'T ALLOW ENOUGH TIME. STILL THE BEST RIB ROAST I HAVE EVER COOKED. 5 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I see no need to use the mustard. I rubbed kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper. I make slits in the prime rib roast and stuff with garlic all over. This is all you need to do. Cook in 500* oven for 30 minutes. Reduce oven temp to 325* Then use a meat thermometer to gauge the correct timing.145 to 150 degrees for medium. 135 to 140 for rare. If you follow these instructions you will not go wrong. Note: Use kosher salt like a paste, about a cup or more. The meat will not be salty but will give you a nice brown crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This is a great recipe...HOWEVER>>>>if you open the oven door at all, you totally ruin your effort. The cooking is managed with the high heat of the oven and the time lapse. This meat is too expensive to not investigate the method if you are unsure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shallowater, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I have used a similar recipe for years- we call it never fail roast beef- cause you can't go wrong. It needs to be made clear that "standing prime rib" means BONE IN!!! I sometimes buy a boneless rib roast-when on sale and then buy the bones seperatley and have the butcher tie them on! It also makes it much easier to carve. The bones hold the heat when you turn the oven off and they continue to cook the roast. This is the reason people in previous negative reviews had undercooked meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
After reading some of the reviews, i was skeptical of the outcome of this recipe, but i got the courage and tried it 2 nights ago. I made a few mods to the cooking time though, keeping in mind that i have an electric oven...I had a 12lbs pork ribs, i had them cook @ 500 for 60 minutes, then i turned off the oven and let the oven do its magic, after an hour and 15 minutes, i turne the oven back on to 250 degrees and had it cook for anothe 30 minutes and turned it off and let it sit in the oven for 10 minutes. DO NOT OPEN THE OVEN DOOR! the ribs turned out PERFECT!!!! My friend said those were the best ribs he had, i personally thought it needed a little more flavor. but the outcome of the meat texture was really an A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Popo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I didn’t have any dijon in the pantry so I tried horseradish mustard mixed with a little honey. It was ok but I would stick to dijon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Very nice! If not at room temperature when cooking expect more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
The meat was great. The smoke that the fat caused wasn't. It was a Christmas day to remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I made this for New Years Eve dinner for our family. It was fabulous and tasted just like a restraunt's. Get your roast from a good meat market. OMG though, this cut of meat is so greasy. Not when you eat it but the cleanup! It took me twice as long as normal to clean up the kitchen afterwards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Turned out really well! I let the seasoning sit on prime rib overnight. WAS AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States