Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
We cooked a 7 lb prime rib and cooked it for 5 minutes per lb at 500 degrees and then let it sit for 1 hour in the oven with the temperature turned off never opening the door. Then we let it sit out for 15 minutes before slicing and it was one of the best prime ribs we have ever made. We seasoned it with garlic salt, pepper and garlic seasoning. PERFECT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Have a newer oven, let roast set out for an hour (room temp.), cooked 500 degrees at 5 min. per pound, let rib roast set in unopened oven for 90 minutes. Outside was perfect, inside wasn't even 130 degrees. Had to turn oven back to 325 degrees and cook about an 1 hr longer to reach rare temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I have ruined very expensive prime ribs in the past, so I was anxious to obey all the rules of this recipe. I have to say it was the absolute BEST prime rib I've ever cooked! My husband who is quite the steak connoisseur actually reacted with a surprised, delighted "This is better than any restaurant prime we've had!" I created a paste of mesquite, italian and various other savory spice seasonings with olive oil, coated the entire prime and then followed the recipe. Just before serving, I warmed it at 350 for 15. PERFECT medium rare...and TENNNNNDER!!! MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capiz Greene
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
The BEST. Even better than some restaurants who seem to treat this like a regular roast. The key is DO NOT open your oven after the specified cooking time! Leave it in there for the 90 min. without peeking! I've made this without letting it come to room temp and is still very good. Prime rib isn't supposed to be done all the way thru..well, not well-done. Have made it this way using a cranberry mustard too. yum. I always give this recipe when asked how in the world I got such a good prime rib. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made this yesterday for Christmas. I was afraid to use the dijon because I didn't know if my guests would like it. I was freaking out over cook times. I looked in several sites, here, and then also tried Martha Stewart and Food Network. I went with Stewarts as far as bringing the 10 lb roast that I used, to room temp for TWO HOURS. I put the roast in a 450 degree oven for 15 minutes, then dropped the temp to 325, for 1 hr 45 min., inserted thermometer and it was at 140 degrees. Took it out let it sit about 20 min and it was perfect medium rare. Seven people devoured a 10 lb roast. No leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
The secret is making Prime Rib for 2. Use the basics listed here on a four lb. roast...pop into a 450 degree oven, reduce heat to 350 and cook 20 minutes per pound. Let rest 15 minutes....Carve off the bone and make Prime Rib Soup with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I have used this recipe for the past 8 years and it always comes out perfect, not a problem!!! Paired with horseradish sauce, delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE250922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herkimer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe! I have tried several versions of cooking prime rib with many of the recipes on All Recipes. What I would suggest to ALL, is placing FRESH rosemary atop the roast. I donn't see rosemary in any of your resipes. Amazing! I would Never cook a prime rib without using rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I've coooked my roasts this way for years, but make a rub of dry mustard and butter. The trick (sipmplicty 123) is DO NOT OPEN THE OVEN DOOR until the cooking time is done and it has been left in the oven for a further hour........by opening the door you distrub the cooking process, be patient........I cook for Med rare, 9 min per lb at 500......then let it sit for an hour......and yes you will have some smoke......but don't panic. (rare cook for 7 min/lb for well done 10 min/lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I thought this roast was amazing! My guests were raving about it all night. The mustard gives that extra "oomph"! Not only that, but it was soooo easy! For those who had trouble with it being undercooked I would suggest a meat thermometer. I too had issues with the cooking time but since ovens are different and some prefer there beef cooked "a little more" I always trust the meat thermometer. Super recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States