Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I wasn`t sure about the mustard because I`m not a fan.But I follwed the recipe and wasn`t disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Made this for xmas dinner. I started with a 14 pound roast which was 5 ribs. I did what another reviewer suggested and used the 5 minute per pound rule and put it into a 500 degree oven for 70 minutes. I had a thermometer in the oven with the panel on the outside and the temperature had dropped below 120 within 45 minutes after I turned the oven off. I have a gas oven and am wondering if they are worse at holding residual heat than electric ovens. I turned the oven back on to 225 and left it there for the remaining 45 minutes. Despite the oven cooling and having to be reheated, the roast was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This is great and quick have used this recipe the last 4 New Years and it is always great, though I have had to adjust the time a few minutes due to the size we usually do but always a great Prime Rib
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Loved this recipe but I had to change the roasting method because I realized that I would not have been able to bake my appetizer since the oven could not be opened! Glad I thought of that before I started! I wanted to mention that we LOVED the seasoning with the mustard. I cooked a 7.5 lb roast and I stuffed in 8 garlic cloves slivered, sprinkled with Montreal Steak Seasoning and the Dijon mustard. I laid fresh thyme sprigs on top. Roasted in covered pan @ 500* for 20 minutes, uncovered and continued @ 350* about 15 mins per pound. It was very rare and everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Did it for 7 minutes per pound at 500 degrees. Then turned it off and left it for the 90 minutes. It didn't get cooked well enough so bumped it up to 350 for a few additional minutes. Had a thermometer in it so we could monitor it through the window without opening the door. Was a great recipe and a big hit with all for Christmas dinner. Will be repeating it for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I tried this method but I was afraid the prime rib would not cook. Here are my facts. I had a 4.22lb prime rib roast with the ribs cut off and tied back on. I used a gas oven and I did not open the oven at all. I cooked the prime rib at 500 ° for 25 mins before turning the oven off. I inserted a remote thermometer from the begining. I didn't realize I could see my oven temp thermometer through the door until the oven had been off about an hour and 15 minutes and the oven temp was only 125 and the roast was only 112 degrees. I then turned the oven on to 300° and when the roast temp reached 135° I removed it from the oven. While resting the temp continued to climb to 143°. I have times and temps throughout the cooking period, but I can't display it, because allrepices will not allow the formating. Rst turned out very good, if you like it medium. I would have perfered it more bloody, I should have removed it from the oven sooner or not turned the oven up to 300, maybe only 250° would have worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I love this recipe, I made it 2 weeks ago and my husband who is very picky loved it he said it was better then any restaurant prime rib he has ever had! OOThis recipe is very simple too! I have a 10 week old daughter and a 4 year old daughter, the prep took no time at all and the end result was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I have been making prime rib this way for several years now. It is always a huge hit! Any newcomers to our holiday parties are incredulous as to how unbelievably easy this is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noel, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This really works! Turned out perfectly! Takes all the guesswork out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRYS7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Nothing Wrong With Directions, I Had No Problems With My Convection Oven. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCKL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States