Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS.SUSAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
We served this twice in two weeks, both dinner partys were a hit. My husband swears by the dijon method. This will be served everytime we make prime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This was Awesome!!! This is the best way to cook Prime Rib that we've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This recipe is absolutely awesome! For a previous reviewer, the reason your roast came out raw was because you did not let your roast come to room temperature before cooking. You need to let it sit out for atleast 1/2 hour before cooking, and you should do this for any roast, but especially for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
OMG! Like many others I too made this for Christmas dinner. So tender so succulent. My husband raved about this and if you use the drippings to make a sauce yummy yummy. Good with horseradish sauce or without. I stongly suggest that if you go the uncovered route to make sure your oven is clean, due to the fact intense heat may make your oven smoke out. This recipe goes great with the Make Ahead potatoes found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Prepared an 11lb. boneless roast with this recipe.I reduced the cooking time to 40 minutes (uncovered), and let it continue the suggested 90 min. 11lb. roast, 8 adults, NO PRISONERS!!! This was absolutely the best meal I've ever prepared. Several marriage proposals made. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I made this for Christmas Dinner, and it was the first Time I made Prime Rib .. ever. What a hit. Everyone raved! I had a 12 lb Prime Rib, I cooked it on 500 (covered) for 70 minutes, and then turned off the oven for 95+ minutes and it came out perfect. Due to the cut of the meat, I had well-done to med-rare and that pleased everyone. This will be the ONE recipe that I used EVERY time I make Prime Rib from now on! Thanks!! (as we are now enjoy prime rib sandwich leftovers too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Dale this rocked but I agree with the last post Laurilan, we made it for Christmas and after following your instructions EXACTLY, it was still mooing ;) We had a lot of fun all hanging out at the "meat seat" near the un-opened oven and even concocted a "meat diary" of how blessed long we cooked it. It was quite amusing entertainment value on Christmas eve. Just allow a bunch of time when you attempt this because it sure needed it even for a medium doneness. OK...One hour at 500 in a CLEAN oven to prevent smoking, covered roast with foil. Turn oven off then LEAVE OVEN CLOSED for 90 minutes. Then turn oven up to 200 and cook for half hour, 300 for another half hour, 350 for another half hour. This was a 7.5 pound roast and this extravaganza took a total of 4 HOURS to get the internal temp up to 140. It was worth every minute. Thanks for the recipe, Dale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Okay, the flavor was awesome when I got it to cook completely so a five star on that...however, it did not cook at all. A fellow reviewer pointed out that you need to start with the roast at room temperature...that was my mistake--I had it in the fridge. Next time I will use your seasonings but cook for 500 for 30 minutes and then 325 for 10-15 minutes per lb if I have it in the fridge. Although, I may try it one more time the correct way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
This was very easy to make and it came out perfect. The only thing I would change is omit the the Dijon Mustard I didn't think it gave it any flavor. I would just rub the roast with garlic salt, and pepper the night before and store in refrigerator over night covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States